Unanswered: More Query questions(either or?)

I am trying to build a search function where I can search my table for text matches in Either row A Or Row B Or Both rows.

how would I go about doing this? I can feed the query from a combobox but cant figure out how to do one column or the other or both....

thanks in advance for your help

Query Question

Have you tried using an "or" statement for the tables?

SELECT *
    FROM tablename
    WHERE field1name or field2name Like "*" & [Enter Data Here] & "*";

Quote Originally Posted by kccpo
    Have you tried using an "or" statement for the tables?

SELECT *
    FROM tablename
    WHERE field1name or field2name Like "*" & [Enter Data Here] & "*";
    BAD SQL ...

... WHERE (( Field1 LIKE '%" & TextA.Value & "%') OR ((Field2 LIKE '%" & TextB.Value & "');"
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

no I havent and im not sure how to? I know nothing about and/or statements yet. (I am a newbie learning as I go)

I have built a form that has 2 items, and a query that has the 2 columns from the table.

(Item 1) a combobox that has 3 options.
    Search column A
    Search column B
    Search both A & B

(Item 2) a text box to enter the text to search the columns for.

I want to be able to select search column A, and type in dog and get all records with the word dog in column A, (or B or both)

I am lost on making this happen....

Quote Originally Posted by M Owen
    BAD SQL ...

... WHERE (( Field1 LIKE '%" & TextA.Value & "%') OR ((Field2 LIKE '%" & TextB.Value & "');"

Owen, Thanks for the correction...

hmm still lost..

Quote Originally Posted by saw_Duuhst
    hmm still lost..
    Why lost? You have all the elements to build the required search criteria ... Implementing it is another thing ... That you have to do. There are numerous ways for implementing this and only you can specify the way that works best for your needs ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...