Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Unhappy Unanswered: DB2 installation on Solaris 8

    Hi all,

    We recently bought 2 boxes running on Solaris 8. It failed when I tried installing DB2 Connect Unlimited Edition on it. I have gone through the "pre-installation" process step by step. Like applying all the necessary patches, installing the latest JRE etc.. I can get to the set up wizard... specify configurations etc... it freezes at the last window which should show the summary of the configurations. I use Cygwin to connect to the machines right now. Any pointers as to why this is happening? Any help would be appreciated.

    Additional Info:
    #isainfo -kv
    64 bit Sparcv9 Kernel modules

    #java -version
    java version "1.4.1_07"

    Harware info:
    SunFire V240. DSVI Only 2 x 1GHz UltraSPARC IIIi, 4 x 512 MB DIMMS, 2 x 36GB Drives, 4 x 10/100/1000 Gigibit Ethernet, ALOM Remote Manager, Three PCI Slots, n+1 Redundent Power.

    DB2 version:
    DB2 V8.1 Connect Unlimited Edition for Solaris.

    Thanks in advance,
    Newbie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    I have installed DB2 connect EE saturday on Solaris 8.
    When I tried to use the setup it freezes on the first window, we are using
    the ssh. so instead of wasting my time, I uses the db2_install and it works.

    regards & thanks,

    Mujeeb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Talking

    Thanks for the prompt reply. I am new to Solaris.... Could you elaborate.. what would the the steps to get it running? Can i use Control center later on? I did use db2_install.. i dont see db2 processes in the solaris process center.... i am a GUI guy . Thanks mujeeb.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    1. Use db2_install to install the db2 packages.(it only starts the packages).

    2. use db2icrt as the root to create the inatance user.It is located at
    /opt/IBM/db2/V8.1/instance

    ./db2icrt -a <authentication> -p <port no> -u <fence_user> <instance_user>
    User <fence_user> and <instance_user> are operating system user.

    3. update the db cfg using

    db2 update dbm cfg using SVCNAME <port no>

    4. As the root makes that <port no> usually we gave a descriptive name

    in /etc/services file

    5. If db2comm is not set , set it to dbset DB2COMM=tcpip

    6. Login as the instance user and issue the command db2start

    good luck

    Mujeeb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Talking Thanks Mujeeb!

    Thank you mujeeb. Works like a charm. I wonder if it was a bug. Anyways... one last question... i cataloged a database... and then tried to access it from a control center from one of the window boxes... it wouldnt accept a host name... i did update the SVCNAME and port number to 50000. Any pointers?

    Thanks in advance,
    Newbie

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    For connectivity the steps are:

    1. set DB2COMM using the command

    db2set DB2COMM=tcpip
    stop and start the instance, it started the communication manager/listener.

    2. Update the dbm cfg file

    update dbm cfg using SVCNAME <service_name>

    3. Find an empty port no and update the /etc/services file

    <service_name> <port_no>/tcp

    good luck

    regards & thanks

    Mujeeb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Thumbs up

    Thank you Mujeeb for all your valuable inputs. I am all set now.

    Newbie

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Unhappy Control Center Freezes

    Hi all,

    Everything seemed to work satisfactorily, until i installed Java 1.4.2 and used a symbolic link to point to the latest installation. I created a 64 bit instance and tried to add a database using the control center, it freezes randomly. My guess is that i am missing something with the JRE. I researched and went through the steps again. I am still stuck. Any pointers?

    Info:
    DB2 V8.1
    Solaris 8 on UtraSparc III (64 bit)

    Thanks in Advance,
    Newbie

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    Could you create the database from the command prompt.

    1. Log in as instance user
    2. use the command

    db2 "create database <db_name>" // You can drop that database anytime

    If you can do that then the problem is with db2cc.
    You can open the db2cc in a text editor and can see what it is doing.
    One advice if you want to work in Unix enviroment, try to use db2 system commands instead of GUI tool.

    regards & thanks

    Mujeeb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Inside Intel
    Posts
    165

    Question

    Mujeeb,

    I was able to use db2system commands. I was able to create database, query it etc.. It is the control center then... Thanks for the advice..

    I was just thinking of another workaround for this problem. Now that i have modified the /etc/services file and added a SVCENAME and a port, i can as well connect and try using the control center from admin client on of the windows boxes.... Any ideas as to how to go about it? It is giving me a communications error...

    Error:
    [IBM][CLI Driver] SQL30081N A communication error has been
    detected. Communication protocol being used: "TCP/IP".
    Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location where the
    error was detected: "". Communication function detecting the
    error: "connect". Protocol specific error code(s): "10061",
    "*", "*". SQLSTATE=08001

    Thanks,
    Newbie

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    You can do these things.

    Check can you ping the server machine.
    Another way is to use telnet <server_ip_address> <port_no>.
    If it will not hang then move forward

    1. catalog your node and catalog the database.
    2. connect to the database from the db2 prompt.
    3. Change your diaglevel to 4 and check the db2diag.log file.


    regards & thanks,

    Mujeeb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •