Unanswered: Use combo box for query criteria

I have a form that prompts user to enter carrier #. We are constantly adding new carriers and users don't know of all the carrier #'s. Is ther a way to allow users to select a carrier form a combo box/list? I am a newbie and really appreciate anyone who can give me some direction

Provided Answers: 1
    Poke around the Help file for combo box recordsource. It's fairly trivial to assign a record source to a combo box.

IN general, you can reference objects on a form from a query or a report using:

Forms!YourForm!YourObject.value
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

I guess I didn't describe my situation enough..I have a form with the record souce being a SQL Statement:Query builder. On one of the fields i have criteria = [Enter Carrier Number] As iI stated before, I reall want the form to open and allow user to select Carrier Name from combo box or list to update all other fields. That's what I'm trying to do, maybe I'm going about it all wrong but I am trying to learn on the fly.

If I understand you correctly then you will want to add a combo box to the form. When the wizard comes up, tell it to make a combo box that searches for a record. The wizard will create the code to find the carrier for you when the user selects a carrier.

Change your field on your form into a combo or list box then on the record source type change it to Table/Query then bind it into a table or query on the record source. You should have your value in the a table if you want to add additional value later. This is the simple way to do it.

ESM

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by esm