Unanswered: dynamic MySQL statement help

Hi all,

I have been doing database design and web design for a solid 5 years.

Recently, I have had the need to get much deeper into MySQL syntax and various functions.

What I am looking for here is a confirmation that the following idea will work with MySQL.

here's a little background:

I have a website/directory service, where there are 18 categories with each sub category containing varying amounts of subcategories.

Now, in the design I have a table that searchs are performed on, and I have the following columns as part of my "descriptions" table where all my data is stored.

column1 Name: cat_id which contains the numeral from 1 to 18 (descriptor of the general category.

column 2 Name: sub_cat_id which contains a variable numeral which describes the sub category.

column 3 Name: loc_id: which contains the geographical numerical reference.

So say our Main category is Entertainment (which equals 5 ) and it's sub category which equals =11 (which in this case would make it snowboarding).

Now, here's where it gets tough. I designed a ADVANCED search page, where it allows for a WORD SEARCH and then you can also select MULTIPLE sub category selections, and also select a GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION,( which is covered by an additional column in the exact same table which is called loc_id). This would fullfill a more detailed search then your typical word search.

You following me?

Ok, so, I want to know if the following will work.

So say a user types in a string for searching.... in this case it will be "ski hill"

and then they select a sub category UNDER the main category of Entertainment. (In this case, there are 13 different subcategories under the main category "Entertainment") They then select the LOCATION which I described above....

HOW EXACTLY CAN I DESCRIBE THIS VIA MySQL SYNTAX??? and then pass this advanced search onto the database?

Here is my syntactical idea...:

SELECT descriptions.cat_id,