Unanswered: Newbie - Stuck in DB

Greetings All!

I'm quite new to Access rarely figure out successfully how to insert code I find on the forums and for it to work, but I keep trying...

My project deals with reworking the example template Microsoft releases for "Event Management". What I have is a dance studio where everyone signed up for a class offered is tracked, their birthday (still can't get THAT to work, down to years and months, anyway...only years), etc. What I'm trying to add to this database is the function of not only collecting attendee registration information, but also who their partner is for that specific class. Partners change so the relation here would be to the RegistrationID number in the Registration table. I'm stumbling with figuring out how many additional tables I need to create, and what to put on a form that allows selections of two different Attendees to be saved as one couple. *sigh*

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This function is the major reason for creating a new database altogether, because partners change over the course of time.

Thank you.

JT
    Raleigh, NC

Do you need to keep a history of these partners? In that as they change, would you still like to keep that history?

This is just my first thought. One table seems to me to be enough. This table would have three fields GroupNumber, Dancer1, and Dancer2. There are several ways you could then assign them to a group. But I think the best strategy is to tie each dancer to a group rather than attempting to tie two dancers to each other.

Jeremy Brooks
    PSIA-RM

Quote Originally Posted by meremyb
    Do you need to keep a history of these partners? In that as they change, would you still like to keep that history?