Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    76

    Unanswered: Auto Commit Option in DB2 UDB 8.1.3

    Hi All,

    How to set Auto commit option ON/OFF?

    System Info:
    OS: Windows 2000 Server
    DB: DB2 UDB 8.1.3

    Thanks in Advance.
    Jai

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    448
    db2 +c "select * from employee"
    db2 -c- "select * from employee"

    Check the sql command reference when the autocommit turn on.

    Inside db

    update command option using .... OFF

    regards & thanks.

    Mujeeb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    76

    AutoCommit option to 'OFF' for any operation happens to DB through any application

    Thanks for quick responce. Let me elaborate more regarding my query.

    I've created one Database on DB2 ESE 8.1.3. Now I want to set AutoCommit option to 'OFF' for any operation happens on the server through any tool or application.

    Please let me know command for that and if any GUI is available to perform the same.

    Thanks in Advance,
    Jai

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    In your db2cli.ini file, set AUTOCOMMIT=0 under the database section

    The db2cli.ini file is by default under sqllib/cfg

    HTH

    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    In your db2cli.ini file, set AUTOCOMMIT=0 under the database section

    The db2cli.ini file is by default under sqllib/cfg

    HTH

    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Quote Originally Posted by jsp2999
    Thanks for quick responce. Let me elaborate more regarding my query.

    I've created one Database on DB2 ESE 8.1.3. Now I want to set AutoCommit option to 'OFF' for any operation happens on the server through any tool or application.

    Please let me know command for that and if any GUI is available to perform the same.

    Thanks in Advance,
    Jai
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    76

    But what if my server have 2 DBs and want to set diff value of AUTOCOMMIT for each

    Hi Sathyaram,

    Thanks a lot. But can you please tell me suppose there are two databases running on my Server any I want to set AUTOCOMMIT option ON for one database and OFF for another database then what needs to be done.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    "autocommit" is a client setting, not a database setting, therefore you can only set it at the client side.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •