Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: oracle logging

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    105

    Unanswered: oracle logging

    Hi,

    DBA question for you...(I'm sure not!)

    In a particular instance (8i), can you set different degrees logging per schema?

    thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >can you set different degrees logging per schema?
    HUH?
    Logging what information to which destination for what purpose?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    105

    yes, good question

    "Logging what information to which destination for what purpose?"

    1) The schema owner's (user's) activity
    2) To log files
    3) To track activity

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Hi,

    Alternatively you can write your own audit triggers...

    Code:
    [pseudo code]
    before insert or update or delete on <table>
    if updating then 
       if new.column1 <> :old.column1
          insert into history_table (  'UPDATE', user, 'column', :old.value,:new.value )
       end if;
       if :new.column2 <> :old.column2 then 
          ... etc
       end if;
    elsif deleting then
       insert into history_table ('DELETE'..... etc)
    end if;  
    [/pseudo code]
    It carries an obvious overhead though.

    Hth
    Bill
    Please don't email me directly with questions. I've probably just got home from the pub and cannot guarantee the sanity of my answers. In fact, I can't believe I actually made it home.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Alternatively you can write your own audit triggers...
    What benefit would this provide that AUDIT does not?
    Please provide a sample trigger that works with simple SELECT statement.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    I find this really wierd because in between your first post which reads....
    "HUH" ... "Logging what information to which destination for what purpose?"
    which suggests you haven't understood the question, and this post, you've suddenly decided that the original poster wants auditing on select statements and have gone so far as to ask me for comparable metrics and examples of performance.

    When you manage to remove your head out of your own arse, I might try to start measuring it. Until then, I trust you'll continue in your ways or go and RTFM on how to extract it.

    Tell me.. why didn't you suggest AUDIT in your first post? Ah, I forgot, you take pleasure in taking the p**s out of other posters who you deem to be not worthy.

    Note also, my post to which you replied starts with the phrase "Alternatively you can...".

    You need to get a dog or cat or a husband to kick or something.
    Please don't email me directly with questions. I've probably just got home from the pub and cannot guarantee the sanity of my answers. In fact, I can't believe I actually made it home.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Desk, slightly south of keyboard
    Posts
    697
    Please do correct me if I'm wrong but isn't AUDITING only available as an option on Standard Edition databases but included on Enterprise?

    So for the developer cost of writing a trigger which is portable amongst all versions, versus the licence cost of going with Enterprise or atleast being stuck with Enterprise, I see some benefit - even if only as that alternative.
    Please don't email me directly with questions. I've probably just got home from the pub and cannot guarantee the sanity of my answers. In fact, I can't believe I actually made it home.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    105

    interestingly enough...

    the reason for my question was for a particular schema's activity to have the least amount logging/tracking/auditing/blah blah possible. I was hoping for a high level answer (which is why i asked a high level question)

    yes, anacedent does have an attitude...but he's/she's a good resource...and quite amusing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, NY USA
    Posts
    2,509
    Short answer, yes using auditing you can audit a specific schema usage.
    Bill
    You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •