Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Unanswered: ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    I got this message when a customer wants to order a product at my website. I have attach the ordernow.asp code in microsoft word. Need Help.
    Isaac Brown

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'
    Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.
    /WebStore/OrderNow.asp, line 528
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    1. Do a response.write on your sql query and post it here to see if there are any errors in it...

    2. It looks like the error is related to the recordcount being used to set the pagesize. If you want the pagesize to be all the records why set a pagesize at all?

    3. If this is the line that is causing the issue then I would guess recordcount is not returning a valid value. Response.write it out and check what it equals.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Hello

    Thanks for responding. I am more of a IT person than I am a programmer. I have taken a few languages, so I may need some more assistance. When I do a Response.Write, I just get the line of the variable I am requesting. If you can direct me to where I should put the response .write will help me to beter work with you in solving my problem.

    Thanks Isaac

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    you have this section of code
    Code:
    Conn11.Open DataSource11
    RS11.Open GeneratedSQL,Conn11,adOpenKeyset,adLockReadOnly 'both keys are to be variables
    TotalCount11=RS11.RecordCount
    RS11.PageSize = TotalCount11  'Number of rows per page
    change it to this...
    Code:
    Conn11.Open DataSource11
    Response.Write GeneratedSQL
    RS11.Open GeneratedSQL,Conn11,adOpenKeyset,adLockReadOnly 'both keys are to be variables
    TotalCount11=RS11.RecordCount
    Response.Write TotalCount11
    RS11.PageSize = TotalCount11  'Number of rows per page
    It will print out the sql you are trying to send to the database and what your record count is. post that here so we can have a look at what you are sending and see if there is a problem and see if you are getting -1 back for your record count which is probably an invalid value for the page size property.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1

    same problem here

    I am extremely new to this, so please any help is appreciated

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.

    /results.asp, line 47


    Code:
    <%@LANGUAGE="JAVASCRIPT" CODEPAGE="1252"%>
    <!--#include file="Connections/IDX.asp" -->
    <%
    var MLSIDX__twn = "everett";
    if (String(Request('twn')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('twn')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__twn = String(Request('twn'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX__type = "sf";
    if (String(Request('type')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('type')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__type = String(Request('type'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX__beds = "1";
    if (String(Request('beds')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('beds')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__beds = String(Request('beds'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX__baths = "1";
    if (String(Request('baths')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('baths')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__baths = String(Request('baths'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX__min = "0";
    if (String(Request('min')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('min')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__min = String(Request('min'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX__max = "999999999";
    if (String(Request('max')) != "undefined" && 
        String(Request('max')) != "") { 
      MLSIDX__max = String(Request('max'));
    }
    %>
    <%
    var MLSIDX = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset");
    MLSIDX.ActiveConnection = MM_IDX_STRING;
    MLSIDX.Source = "SELECT *  FROM mls  WHERE LONG ='"+ MLSIDX__twn.replace(/'/g, "''") + "' AND PROP_TYPE ='"+ MLSIDX__type.replace(/'/g, "''") + "' AND NO_BEDROOMS >= '"+ MLSIDX__beds.replace(/'/g, "''") + "' AND NO_FULL_BATHS >= '"+ MLSIDX__baths.replace(/'/g, "''") + "' AND LIST_PRICE BETWEEN '"+ MLSIDX__min.replace(/'/g, "''") + "' AND '"+ MLSIDX__max.replace(/'/g, "''") + "'  ORDER BY LIST_PRICE";
    MLSIDX.CursorType = 0;
    MLSIDX.CursorLocation = 2;
    MLSIDX.LockType = 1;
    MLSIDX.Open();
    var MLSIDX_numRows = 0;
    %>
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>
    
    <body>
    <%=(MLSIDX.Fields.Item("LIST_PRICE").Value)%>
    <%=(MLSIDX.Fields.Item("LIST_PRICE").Value)%>
    <%=(MLSIDX.Fields.Item("LAST_NAME").Value)%>
    </body>
    </html>
    <%
    MLSIDX.Close();
    %>
    I can't figure out what I am doing wrong, and suggestions?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Hmmm Javascript okie, not as familar with Javascript but should be able to help....this line....
    Code:
    MLSIDX.ActiveConnection = MM_IDX_STRING;
    ActiveConnection is meant to be a ADODB.Connection object and from the looks of things you are passing it a string which isn't going to work.

    What are you doing in your Connections/IDX includes file? I assume you are meant to be creating the connection there so you can apply it to the Recordset later in the code.

    If you can show me the include file contents I should be able to tell you the correct variable to apply for this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Here is the response. Hopefully this helps

    Isaac

    SELECT Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethodID as ShippingMethodID,Shipping_Methods.ShippingPaymentI D as ShippingPaymentID,Shipping_Methods.UnitPriceOrPerc ent as Price FROM Shipping_Methods WHERE Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethodID = 00
    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.

    /WebStore/OrderNow.asp, line 529

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    What datatype is your shippingMethodID? I would have suspected numeric but looking at what you supplied it could be a string value which means your sql needs to look like this...
    Code:
    SELECT Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethodID as ShippingMethodID,Shipping_Methods.ShippingPaymentI D as ShippingPaymentID,Shipping_Methods.UnitPriceOrPerc ent as Price FROM Shipping_Methods WHERE Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethodID = '00'

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Hello

    Let me know where I can search for the datatype. Is it a variable? When I went to my administrative page for shipping method. My shipping method was ground, next day, 2 day and priority. I hope this help.

    Isaac
    Last edited by isaacb20747; 10-29-04 at 10:01.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    The datatype is in your database. Are you using access?? if so open the database, click on the table, click the design button and it will list all the fields and thier datatypes

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Hello

    I took a look at the code and notice in the Datasource11 area their were no PageSize variable or Totalcount11. I added a PageSize11 variable, a Totalcount11 and pointed the PageSize count to PageSize11 I finally got to the shipping method page, but I got this error on the page.

    Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a01a8'
    Object required: '[number: 0]'
    /WebStore/OrderNow.asp, line 901

    Thanks Isaac

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    I'm guessing a bit here because you have provided pretty much no useful information like a copy of what line 901 looks like now that you have edited the file or attached the new file...

    I would guess that the issue is with this line
    Code:
    Conn1.Close
    set rs1 = nothing
    set Conn1 = nothing
    and is probably because you have set it to nothing previously. eg. there is a flaw in your flow of logic.. if Conn1 is set to nothing prior to this then you can't close it because it does not exist.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6

    ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'

    Hello

    Sorry about that, I knew I forgot something. Line 901 is on a blank line after this area of the program

    '==============Lookup("ShippingMethod")=========== =====
    DataSource11 = "Driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)}; DBQ= "& DB_Path &"shopDB.mdb;"
    PageSize11 = 1
    GeneratedSQL= "SELECT Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethod as ShippingMethod,Shipping_Methods.ShippingMethodID as ShippingMethodID"_
    &" FROM Shipping_Methods WHERE Shipping_Methods.Supported = TRUE"
    Set Conn11 = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    Set RS11 = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.RecordSet")
    RS11.CursorType = adOpenStatic
    Conn11.Open DataSource11
    RS11.Open GeneratedSQL,Conn11,adOpenKeyset,adLockReadOnly 'both keys are to be variables
    TotalCount11=RS11.RecordCount
    RS11.PageSize = PageSize11 'Number of rows per page
    IntShipMethod=CInt(ShipMethod)
    bFirst=TRUE
    Do While Not RS11.EOF
    met=rs11.fields("ShippingMethodID")
    if(IntShipMethod = met) then
    mystring = "SELECTED"
    else
    mystring =""
    end if
    if(bFirst) then
    if(IntShipMethod=0) then
    ShipMethod = rs11.fields("ShippingMethodID")
    end if
    bFirst=FALSE
    end if

    %>
    <OPTION VALUE = "<%=RS11.fields("ShippingMethodID")%>" <%=mystring%>>
    <%=RS11.fields("ShippingMethod")%>
    <%
    RS11.MoveNext
    Loop
    Conn11.Close
    set rs11 = nothing
    set Conn11 = nothing
    if(FreeShip > 0 AND GrandTotal >= FreeShip) then
    ShipAdd=0
    end if
    %>

    File is attach in Microsoft Word

    Thanks Isaac
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •