Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: using multiple sequence tables

Hi,
    I'm a newbie to Oracle and I'm working on a small project that requires multiple tables to be linked together via master table. So I need to have a master table foreign key in each child table. To generate the unique primary keys I'm using a sequence table. I get the next sequence number and store it in a session to be inserted as the foreign key in any child tables. I also need a primary key for each child table as well. Is it customary to create a sequence table for each child table then use the
    select [table_name_here].nextval as ID_NUM from DUAL to get a sequence number to be used as the primary key or would it be better to create one sequence table and just get the seq from that table to be used as the primary key for each child table?

Thanks in advance

Provided Answers: 1
    Generally people tend to create a sequence per table, but you don't have to. There is a possibility that if you have many, many tables sharing one sequence and a lot of insert activity going on then you may get contention on the sequence object.

My feeling is that you should only use sequences when you HAVE TO (ie: 1 or many columns that would make up the PK might be NULL, so a sequence is necessary)

I've worked on databases where ALL they use are sequences as PKs. The problem I found there was that EVERY table eventually only had numbers in every column and no relevant data! You had to backtrack 3-5 FKs just to figure out what the sequence number represented. Very frustrating.

Also, with sequences you cannot insure uniqueness of your data. All you are ensuring is that the PK (sequence in this case) is unique which it would always be anyways. With a sequence you could be inserting duplicate rows and not be aware of it. I suppose you could enforce that with a unique index of some sort however.

If possible, make the PKs relevant by using the actual columns and not a sequence.