Unanswered: DB2 performance improvement

Hi All,

I am new to db2 field (but have exposure to Oracle Optimization side)but i got a project in which i have to work on the optimization of the COBOL Programs and performance improvement of the DB2 UDB Server.
    What are the areas in which one can look for the optimization? can anyone tell me step by step process to follow for getting the performance improvement.
    If we declare a column or group of columns unique then do we have to give create Index statement for that or can i give alter table add constraint contsraint name unique(list of columns) ... wat will be the difference between this two?
    How to find out the list of indexes which we can remove from the database?
    Whats the importance of NLEVEL column in SYSIBM.SYSINDEXES? i came to know that indexes having NLEVEL greater then or equal to 3 are highly inefficient?
    Thanks in Advance to everyone and an early response will be highly appreciated.
    Vivek

If you create a unique constraint (or a primary key), DB2 will create unique index to ensure the constraint is enforced. The only exception would be if an unique index already existed on the same columns. Some DBA's like to create the index first, and then the constraint later, so that they can name the index themselves (if DB2 creates the index then it comes up with its own index name).

Unless there is a feature added in version 8.2 that I don't know about, you cannot directly determine which indexes are not used. This could indirectly be done by running a SQL Snapshot and explaining all the statements, and checking the explain tables against the list of indexes in syscat.indexes. If you are using DB2 for z/OS and OS/390, you can use the "explain=yes" option on the bind option (instead of the SQL Snapshot) and check the PLAN_TABLE against SYSIBM.SYSINDEXES.