Angry Unanswered: Oracle 92 installation difficulty

Hi dbForums friends:

I am completely new to Oracle (use MS-SQL). Because one of my clients wants me to write a light-ware that connects to their Oracle 9i backend, I downloaded Oracle 9i from Oracle's site and attempted to install it onto my system. Here's the description of my setup:

Oracle host: A Windows xp Pro sp2 system with 60G free hard drive space and 1G RAM, Computer name is DELL8200, connected via TCP/IP (DHCP Client) to a Windows 2000 Small Business Server. The domain is

User: Me. I have administrator right on both machines.

Oracle Installation options selected and fields provided: (1) Install a sample database with management tools and basic client software etc. (2) Name: OraHome92; path: c:\oracle\ora92; (3) MTS Recovery Service: Port 2030; (4) Global database name: (5) sid jtkorcl (6) Directory of data file: c:\oracle\oradata (7) Char set: default (8) edition: Standard

First Problem encountered: Installation stalled at 42% (progress bar did not advance for over 2 hours; no dark disk activity), clicking on 'cancel - entire installtion' yielded no response. Task manager shows the installation as 'running.'

What I did: End the installation task using task manager. Stop the 2 Oracle services that were installed and started. Went through the registry and removed all references to Oracle 9i. Restart machine, delete the 'c:\Oracle' directory and the 'c:\Program Files\Oracle' directory. Reboot. Reinstall.

Second Problem encountered: Installation stalled at 12%. Same symptoms as described above.

What I did: Same as above. WENT BACK TO ORACLE WEBSITE, RE-DOWNLOAD ZIP FILES, UNZIP INTO DISK1, DISK2, AND DISK3 again. Then, install for a third time.

Third Problem: Installation stalled at 27%.

What I did: Write this e-mail!!!!!