Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    29

    Unanswered: msde speed issue

    i have msde installed and running on my local pc. i have 2 db's which both reside on my loacl pc as well. both db's are the same. i have an app that access and retrives data for a db. when i run the app connected to db1 it takes abount 3 seconds to retrive and dispaly my data. when i connect to db2 with the same app, it takes about 35 seconds to retrive the same data. is there some sort of setting on db1 that needs to be set for db2 or can it be some sort of worm on db2 which has not effected db1. if you have any ideas please let me know.

    Thank You,
    Thomas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    114
    Have you tried to rebuild index on both db ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    29
    how do you rebuild the index? can this be done using enterprise manager?

    Thomas

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    114
    The simplest way to do it if you don't know much SQL is to execute the next command line tool:

    Code:
    sqlmaint -U login -P password -D dbname -RebldIdx 100
    See SQL Server Books On Line for more help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    29
    when i try to run the following line:

    sqlmaint -U sa -P eicon_dev -D belmont -RebldIdx 100

    i get the following error

    execution cannot continue as the language dependent resource file c:\resource\1033\sqlmaint.rll could not be loaded.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    114
    Maybe sqlmaint is not installed (try to see if the file exists).

    Otherwise, you should execute this T-SQL command on the tables called by your apps:
    Code:
    USE yourdb
    GO
    DBCC DBREINDEX (yourtable)
    GO

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    29
    sorry i ran the command from the wrong location. i ran it from the proper p;ace and it update my indexes with out error and now my app runs perfectly. thak you very much. one question how often should i run this command? also is there any negative effects to running this comand?

    Thanks,
    Thomas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    114
    Good !

    This frequency depends of the modification level of your data (insert / delete).

    I've never had problem with this command. Maybe someone else have had here ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    29
    can i run this command on an sql database as well or does it only work on msde databases.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    114
    No, you can run it on other edition of SQL Server (as Standard or Enterprise or Personal).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •