Question Unanswered: Linking FORMS to each other

I have two forms that show data from two tables. On form A, I have a command button which opens form B. When I look at form A, I can see the data that applies to Mr X. When I click the button to open form B, I see the data that applies to Mrs O. I want form B to show the information for whoever was showing in form A (in this case, Mr X).

I've tried SQL thingies, but I'm not really a pro at this...

Any ideas?

Cheers

Well, as always, there are many ways to do this, most of which are not clear or straight forward.

Here's a few quickies that may work out for you:

1. Use the "Open Arguments"
    When you use DoCmd.OpenForm, you'll notice that the last optional item you can add is "Open Args". This is a string of text data you can pass to the form you are opening. This would be a great place to pass the key value of the record you want to pull. Here's an example:
    Code:
    DoCmd.OpenForm "mfOtherForm", , , , , , Format(Me.KeyField)
    then, in your second form, use this in the OnOpen event:
    Code:
    If Len(Me.OpenArgs & "") > 0 Then
         Me.Filter = "[KeyField] = " & Me.OpenArgs
         Me.FilterOn = True
    End If
    2. Use "Public Variables"
    Many people frown on the use of public variables and there are reasons to not use them. They are a very convienent item, however, and if you just need to "get in the door" then go ahead!
    First, create a module to declare the varaible (if you're going to use public variable, always declare them in a public module - you'll save yourself a lot of headaches later)
    Code:
    Public pubStrValue As String
    This line sits at the top of the module and declares a string that remains in memory across the application - meaning you can assign a value to it in one form and see that value in the other form. So, use it similar to the OpenArgs example above.