Unanswered: Need help with Locate and Replace

I have a table in Paradox 9 that I need to be able to do a locate and replace on one of the 2 fields. Here is the situation. I have a database of Schools that will have 2 fields, a ClosedCondition field and a Institution field. There is no problem with the Institution field, but on the ClosedCondition field I need some help. This field will contain anything from the word OPEN to the words OPEN SNOW ROUTE to OPEN PAVED ROUTES along with CLOSED and many other variations. I need to be able to "blank" out the ClosedCondition field if it contains the word OPEN, but, do to typo's, it may also have a space before the word OPEN or a ' after the word OPEN'. And I need the OPEN SNOW ROUTE or OPEN WHATEVER left alone. I just need to be able to blank out the field if it is OPEN. I am new to this database and would love it if it could be something simple. Thanks for any and all help.

Apaddle

Hmmm... extemporaneous coding here...
    Code:
    var fv String endvar

isClosed = False
    if not ClosedCondition.IsBlank() then
      fv = UpperCase(ClosedCondition.Value())
      if fv.StrPos("CLOSED") > 0 then   // not sure of func name...
        isClosed = True
      endif
    endif
    Something vaguely sorta like that?

You might be able to use advMatch. Also, the scan for statement, in the for clause, allows you to quickly scan for records that might match what you're looking for.

There are several ways to do it. Hope this helps.
    ChimneySweep(R): fast, automatic
    table repair at a click of the
    mouse! http://www.sundialservices.com

Question That is what I am looking for but....

I am VERY new to paradox, how would I go about using this code? A Script? I'll be honest, HELP!

Thanks

Apaddle

A different view.