Unanswered: Sort text field as a number..

Hi,

I am new to Access and VBA and have a problem.
    I have a field with a text data type but it contains primarily numeric data. I want to sort the numeric data as I would if it were a number field (i.e.: 1,2,3,4,5,etc.) but it sorts it as text from left to right (1,10,2,20, 21, 3, 30, etc.). Is there a way to get the numeric date to sort as a number and still have the text sort as text?

Thanks in advance for your help!

I have thought of another possibility...
    I can switch the data type of the field to number and I can use zero (0) to represent the one text item i want to store here. However, I need to be able to display the item as text on my forms and reports. Is there a way to have alternate text display in the form or report if the value in the field is equal to zero?
    I need the letters HOA to display, instead of the zero.

Here is a better solution that doesn't require that you put a 0 in where you wanted the alpha text. Create a query and include all of the fields that you need for the report. Create another field and define it as '=Format([yourfieldname],"000000")' and then sort based upon this field. Uncheck the 'Show:' box. I didn't know what your largest number would be so I used "000000", which would accomodate a six digit number.

TD

or add leading zero´s in front of the number (they are interpreted as txt])

If I use the leading zeros, how would I enforce entry of the zeros. It will always be a 3 digit number such as 001, 101, 405, etc. or the text phrase HOA. Can I use a table level validation rule requiring at least entry of 3 characters? Not sure how to build that expression. I could set the default value to 000 to remind me to enter 3 characters... Thoughts?
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by barnettcb
    Hi,

I am new to Access and VBA and have a problem.