Thread: MS Dtabases

Unanswered: MS Dtabases

I am not a techie and need help. I have a website (www.mtonline.com) that is not working properly. It works very
    slowly or I get MS error messages such as the following:
    ----------------------------------------------
    Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers error '80004005' [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver]Timeout expired
    D:\INETPUB\WWWROOT\MTONLINE\FACIL\../includes/func_dataaccess.inc, line 18
    or
    D:\INETPUB\WWWROOT\MTONLINE\FACIL\../includes/func_dataaccess.inc, line 43
    error 'ASP 0113'
    Script timed out
    /facil/facilResultContent1.asp
    The maximum amount of time for a script to execute was exceeded. You can change this limit by specifying a
    new value for the property Server.ScriptTimeOut or by changing the
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    When inquiring about it, I got the following from my host who created the site 5 years ago...
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "Your site is on a ancient version of an SQL DB (in the computer world 5 years is pretty old). So getting in and touching
    lots of things is dangerous. We do not have really anyone here that familiar with the version of your DB (v6.5). You have
    a few options.
    (1) I will continue to have our IT department look into it
    (2) You can hire an SQL 6.5 expert to look into the situation
    (3) You are welcome to move the site to another hosting provider. They would either need to upgrade the DB
    (which is no trivel task and of considerable expense) or have a version of 6.5 hangin around somewhere (highly unlikely).
    I am happy to continue to host the site, but I do not want to inherit recoding the site or transferring an unstable DB.
    We did explore upgrading the DB to a newer version but this is also very dangerous and time consuming.
    It could require a considerable amount of re-programming.