Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    15

    Unanswered: Replication on Solaris error

    Hi all ,

    I have successfully installed ASE 12.5.1 on Solaris 5.8 . I have also installed the RS 12.5 , when I run the rs_init setup , after creation of the RSSD devices and databases I get an error mesage stating

    'failed to boot server'
    ?. ?. ERR initialization failed. ((Intl-Lib error: Unable to open file)(OS error: No such file or directory) Localization File: o_1/rs.loc Location: r/errloc.c(279))

    I have checked for the interfaces files for any missing entries but tall entries are present . Also when I try to generate the RSM run file it is created but it fails to run with the same error .

    Thanks for any help in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi,

    I have the same problem SOLARIS 5.8 and RS 12.6.

    What is the solution?

    Thanks in advance.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Posts
    353
    The first thing to do is to check the error logs. First for the ASE server where the RSSD database is located, and second the rs_init error log. This error log is located in $SYBASE/$SYBASE_REP/init/logs.

    Michael

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    Install rep server and ASE in seperate $SYBASE.
    Source their individual env variables prior to starting the session. The error is because the environment variables are incorrect set.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi,

    It seems to be a problem in .profile or/and SYBASE.env for the user which you have used for installation of RS. (It use the same for user which ASE was installed.)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5
    +1 for willy_and_the_ci
    As you use different $SYBASE variable, you will use a different interface file. Be sure to source the right environnement before running the rep server.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    14
    hi all,
    i am new to rep server can u help me in installing rep server a breif steps. i
    already install ASE-12_5.6 on solaris 5.8 .now i want 2 install RS-12_6 on solaris 5.8.
    thanx in advanced to all !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    dude,

    You cannot setup Rep server based on instructions from a newsgroup. It is slightly more complicated than that.

    A good source for starters is Peter Sap's website;
    http://www.petersap.nl/index.php?opt...54&word=sybase

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    14
    thanx willy,
    for giving kind help on installation url.
    if any problem in future ,plz help me !
    thanx in advance.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    14

    (replication server) rs_init giving error

    Hi Friends
    While installing a new replication server(ver 12.6 on
    solaris)using rs_init I am getting this error
    "Charset 'iso_1' is invalid". I checked my ASE charset
    which is iso_1 only.My ASE version is 12.5.1
    I tried running rs_init -r with the resource file .But
    I am getting the same error. I also tried installing
    in a new machine. But getting the same error.

    can anybody help me in rectifying this problem?

    Thanks in advance
    mindkits

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    14

    :"Create failed because Log transfer for database

    hi all,
    waiting for last reply !
    i got following error again when trying to solve the error.
    plz help me as soon as possible


    Task succeeded: check the database.
    Running task: configure database for replicate data.
    Loading script 'rs_install_replicate.sql' into database 'rs2_db'.
    ..Done
    Loaded script 'rs_install_replicate.sql' successfully.
    Granting permissions on the lastcommit functions.
    Granted maintenance user permissions on the lastcommit functions.
    Granted replication role to maintenance user
    Task succeeded: configure database for replicate data.
    Running task: set connection to the database.
    Adding database 'rs2_db' to the replication system.
    SQL Server message: msg 15230, level 12, state 0

    WARNING: "Create failed because Log transfer for database sample.rs2_db is off.
    "

    Unable to execute query 'create connection to "sample"."rs2_db" set error class
    rs_sqlserver_error_class set function string class rs_sqlserver_function_class
    set username "rs2_db_maint" set password "rs2_db_maint_ps" as active for "sam
    ple"."rs2_db"' against server 'rs2'.
    Press <return> to continue.

    Task failed: set connection to the database. Terminating configuration.
    Press <return> to continue.

    Configuration failed.
    Press <return> to continue.

    plz, plz ..........help me soon.
    thanx to all !
    regards
    mindkits

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208
    You have not configured the Rep Agent thread on the source database. This is most likely because your rs_init options are incorrect.

    I don't have a rep server here in Hejamadi, but there should be an option which says "Will this database be replicated" This is a toggle, say "yes".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •