Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    107

    Unanswered: Another record locking issue...

    Hi all,

    I'm working on a Planning Databse for a factory that allows jobs to be allocated to machines and to be given a priority. This info. is displayed on an Access 2000 form e.g.

    MACHINE ONE MACHINE TWO
    Priority Job Number Priority Job Number
    1 J111 1 J654
    2 J562 2 J865
    3 j231 3 J821

    Both the Production Manager and the Factory Manager have this form open at all times. The problem is this, if for example the Factory Manager changes the priority of a job on his PC, the change is not shown on the Production Managers PC (cos' his screen has not been refreshed with update) The Production Manager therefore has old data on his screen and could mistakenly think that the job priority had not changed at all...
    I have managed to write some VBA code to get round this but I was wondering if there was any way of 'pushing ' changes to the front-end when they are made or of using record-locking etc. to achieve the same affect...

    Thanks
    M

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    41
    That situation shouldn't happen. However, review optimistic and pessimistic locking. Pessimisitic should definitely work if you're having problems with optimistic.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Give them a refresh button?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    107
    I have already implemented a refresh button but every now and again the users forget to press it and this causes problems. Also tried using the Access Timer Interval to refersh every n seconds but that caused other problems that I won't go into here.

    Sorry I didn't reply sooner as I was off ill yesterday :-(

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    45
    The only way that I can see that would resolve your problem is implementing some kind of refresh interval on the front end, as the refresh button aproach apparently didn't work!

    The problem with "forcing new entries" is basically that you actually retrieve data from the db, and thus it's kind of difficult to force a re-fetch from the db side...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Listen, I can send you some monkeys that can click the refresh button for you...
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    107
    Hey guys,

    I've just realised that i never mentioned the back-end is a SQL Server 2000 database!!! Basically, I just don't understand record locking well enough and will have to go and do some research....thanks for all your inpute.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •