Thread: Query/Form Prob

Unanswered: Query/Form Prob

Hi All,

I'm a bit of a beginner in the world of databases so am learning as I go.

I'm at a bit of an impass with my latest issue and wondered if anyone can help.

Here's the background:

I've got a very straight forward event management database: 1 table and a few Select queries. I have created a form for inputting data when I get an enquiry.

One of my fields is called [Tickets Needed] (a number: long integer) - which is essentially the number of tickets requested by a customer. I then have a field called [Invoice Total] - currently has no data. My idea was to generate an invoice total based on the number of tickets required.

So if I have a fixed price of 20 per ticket - I would have thought it would be easy to do a calculation to populate the [Invoice Total] field and display it in the form. I can then mailmerge an invoice in word to pick up the required fields.

Anyone know how I can achieve this?

Things I need to consider:

1) when would the [Invoice Total] field be updated? (e.g. as soon as the [Tickets Needed] field in the form has been entered?)
    2) Is this a query function or something you build into the form
    3) How can I make the returned [Invoice Total] a read only field - so it can't be amended in the form?

Any suggestion would be most welcome as I have all the right ideas and none of the experience to implement them!

All the best.

John

Let's say your text box control bound to the [Tickets Needed] field is named txtQty and the control bound to the [Invoice Total] field is named txtInv:

Private Sub txtQty_AfterUpdate()
    txtInv = txtQty * 20
    End Sub

Set the Locked property of txtInv to True in design view. Then only the event procedure above can change the value of the bound field.

Thanks for your response.

Can I clarify a few things:

1) Is your suggestion VB code
    2) Where should i put this code (literally) - never done this before so have no idea.