Unanswered: Required Fields on form

I have a form with fields bound to a table. Some of the fields are required. On my form I have a close form button. The problem is that the user can close the form without being prompted to fill in required fields, hense not creating a record in the table. Is ther a way to prevent the form from closing if required fields are not filled in? I am new to Access. Maybe code but would it be put in the events for the close button or on the form before update event.

Required Fields

One thing I have done is create a collection of required fields for a form on the load event.

dim colRequiredFields as new collection
    'fill the collection with the field's name
    colrequiredfields.add "txtField1"

then on the close event you can cycle through the items in the collection.

dim iCount as integer
    dim ctl as control

for icount = 1 to colrequiredfields.count
    set ctl = me.controls(colrequirefields(icount))
    if len(trim(ctl.value)) = 0 then
    'this makes the assumption that the tag is holding the 'name' of the field so a user can understand
    msgbox "Please enter a value for " & ctl.tag , vbcritical, "Error, YOU SUCK"
    ctl.setfocus
    exit loop
    end if
    next icount

This should work for text boxes as long as there aren't any default values that are initially stored in the text box etc.

The best place to put code to handle this sort of thing is into the Form's UnLoad event. You see, if you place the handling code into your Close or Exit command button then it will not be executed if the user decides to close the Form via the Window close button [X] - you know, the small red box with a x in it in the upper right corner of your Form.

In the Form's Unload event, you might have something like this:

Code:
    Private Sub Form_Unload(Cancel As Integer)
    If IsNull(Me.my1stRequiredFieldName) Or IsNull(Me.my2ndRequiredFieldName) Then
    	 Cancel = True
    	 MsgBox"Some required fields have not been completed."