Unanswered: Access Query Issue

Hi all,
    I am in the middle of a Staffing project and have managed to pretty much work it all out so far (with a little help from some of you mind). However i am in a slight dilemma. My problem is this.

I have a Master Staff Table that holds a new row for each time an employee changes (i.e. Team Change, promotion, leavers etc).

Each row has a start date (the date the change starts) and a change date,this represents the start date of the new record aswell as being the change date on the (now) old record.

There is no change date on a current record.

The problem seems simple enough on paper but i just cant figure it out.

The user uses an Excel form for inputting the relevent change. This is then exported into an Access holding table to be checked before going into the master table. At this point i pull (from master table) all other records for that staff member and delete them from master (to avoid duplications). What i want to do is check these and then send them back into the Master table, but i want to enter the new records start date in the empty change date field in the now old record (i really hope this makes sense). By doing it this way we can pull all records without a change date into a current staff table that runs the MIS teams reporting amd leaves an audit trail of how many team changes/moves happen in a period of time.

I would rather this did not have to be a manual process as it is only a weekly process and could potentially have 100 plus changes to make.

I cant seem to come up with an answer, if i use an update query it will update the change date on all previous records not just the last one.

Hope it makes sense of sorts.

Many thanks in advance for any time taken or advice given

Chris

i think you are saying that your table is something like this:

myTable:
    myID
    myEmpName
    myStatus
    startDate
    endDate

some records have an empty endDate... these are the current records