Unanswered: Checking for Duplicates

I have an application where a few forms are using the same table. One of my fields if for Social Security Number and I have set that as my primary key because there cannot be duplicates of the SSN. My problem that the SSN is not filled in on every form and Access does not like this. Of course, with a primary key you cannot leave that blank in a record. So my question is, how do I check for duplicates without making my SSN a primary key? I'm fairly new to Access so this may seem like a pretty basic question but my application is just about complete and this is one thing holding me back. Any suggestions?

One option is to not make the SSN your primary key and create a hidden primary key that is just some random autunumbered field.

You could put the SSN on each form but just set the visible property to false if it does not need to be seen.

Quote Originally Posted by jtuck
    I have an application where a few forms are using the same table. One of my fields if for Social Security Number and I have set that as my primary key because there cannot be duplicates of the SSN. My problem that the SSN is not filled in on every form and Access does not like this. Of course, with a primary key you cannot leave that blank in a record. So my question is, how do I check for duplicates without making my SSN a primary key? I'm fairly new to Access so this may seem like a pretty basic question but my application is just about complete and this is one thing holding me back. Any suggestions?
    Hi jtuck,

First things first, seems there is something going on that should be looked into. You say you have the SSN as the PrimaryKey?? Generally when you set a PrimaryKey, that field HAS to be filled in as that is what makes each record unique. So that field should be set to "Required"