Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: i cant set directory for backup database.

    after selecting the presetted directory .. i clicked ok and they said this," The file name specified is recongnized as a directory name. The file won't be able to be rewritten. Would you like to continue? "

    then i clicked " Yes " .. - nothing happened ..
    then i clicked " Yes " .. - nothing happened again ..
    now i click ok again to close the "restore database" icon .. and they give me this.. i attached a screenshot .. pls have a look ..

    i tried clicking "Manage Attachments" somewhere at the bottom of the page to upload .. but ragezone gave me a page telling me that they are sorry for any inconvenience caused .. so i cant attach it .. here is a link .. its kinda small .. but it says:

    "Cannot open backup device 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\'. Device error or device off-line. See SQL Server error log files for more details. RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally."

    thank you for helping me .. thanks in advance ..
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v81/xiaoboy/error.bmp
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v...oy/untitled.bmp

    PLEAS PLEASE HELP ..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    It seems that you only selected the directory, but you also have to specify a file name after the directory.
    Johan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    ok .

    which means i have to create another folder inside the last directory ? ..

    can that folder be a notepad or what ?? ..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    no, you don't need a new folder, you need a filename. For example the complete path would be "e:\data\database\full_backup.bak", where "e:\data\database" would be your directory and "full_backup.bak" your filename.
    Johan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    ookay ..

    my default directory was "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP"

    inside "BACKUP" is NOTHING .. so what do i add into the directory now ? ..

    i tried putting this .
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\full_backup.bak"
    where "full_backup.bak" is actually not in my "BACKUP" folder ..
    the same error appeared ..

    please help me .. and thanks in advance .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    ookay ..

    my default directory was "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP"

    inside "BACKUP" is NOTHING .. so what do i add into the directory now ? ..

    i tried putting this .
    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\full_backup.bak"
    where "full_backup.bak" is actually not in my "BACKUP" folder ..
    the same error appeared ..


    "Cannot open backup device 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\full_backup.bak'. Device error or device off-line. See SQL Server error log files for more details. RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally."

    please help me .. and thanks in advance .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    can you create a new print screen, but make sure that the error message is at the bottom of the page, so I can see what's behind it. Also if possible, a can you make it somewhat bigger?
    Johan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    ok, so if I look at your screen dump, I can see that you have a "." (.full_backup.bak) before the file name. Can you remove this and try again.
    Johan

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    137

    Thumbs up

    Hey buddy the image is very very small and we could hardly see anything on it. Pls increase the size of the image.
    Sudar

    --
    My Blog

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    jora .. i removed that "." behind 'full_backup.bak' already ..

    here is ther result again . http://img88.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img88&image=bd8.jpg

    thx for helping .

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    you are now mixing up two things. First you have to create a backup by specifying a filename before you can restore it.
    This image is a screen during restore of the database. I presume now that you already have a backup. You have to know where it is and select it. If you only used default settings, it should be in the "C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP". If there is no file there, your backup did not succeed.
    Johan

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    okay .. this time i changed back to the default already ..

    well it came out like this ..
    http://img93.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img93&image=bd3.jpg

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    227
    what happens if click on the three dots after the directory? This directory should contain the file of the backup. If not, then either your backup is somewhere else and you have to browse to it or your backup did not succeed in which case you can't restore the database.
    So the first thing you have to do now is either to locate your backup or to create a backup.
    Johan

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    9
    then i shall choose to create a backup ..

    ok .. can i just find a place and create (right click, and new folder) and name it backup??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •