Unanswered: Update Table A based on Table B

I am new to MYSQL and this forum, so please bear with me. I have been trying to figure this one out, but have so far drawn a blank. If anyone could help me out with the right SQL syntax for an Update Query, I would be most grateful, thanks.

I have two tables, A and B.
    Table A contains:
    match_key
    corporate_stays
    Table B contains:
    match_key
    corporate_stay_category

For each record on Table A, there will be one or many table B records, using the match_key as the join on both tables. Each matching Table B record will have either corporate_stay_category = "C", or blank (Not Null)

I want to be able to Update the corporate_stays on each record on table A, with a count of matching table B records that have a corporate_stay_category = "C".

what version of mysql are you using? Multi table updates are supported in 4.0.4 and newer IIRC.

Recently upgraded to MYSQL v 4.1.17!

Provided Answers: 59
    why are you trying to update a value based on data within the database. You should be able to get to the value using a query. Otherwise you run the risk that the information in the table will be out of date

What you are looking for is a relatively simple query
    select count(<column to count>) NoStays from
    <table>
    <specify the join>
    <specify the where criteria>

the join will probably be
    Join A.match_key on B.match_key
    group by a.match_key
    having corporate_stay_category="C"
    or somethign similar - sorry away form the Linux / MySQL box today so can't test it.
    If all else fails look in the manual for the join syntax and SQL aggregate functions, or dare I say it get a decent SQL or MySQL reference.

I have already achieved the SELECT, and I appreciate that the data will get out of date. (Our database is updated once a month by importing data from the client, it's not a transaction database, but a marketing database that is used for statistical analysis)