Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    163

    Unanswered: Please help me with a timeout error problem

    Hi,

    I have a view which is actually based on a number of other views using joins...

    When I try to return all rows, I am getting a time-out message.
    Please help me if there is a solution to this.

    Many TIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Don't return all the rows?

    Do

    SELECT COUNT(*) FROM (
    ..put your DML Here
    ) AS XXX

    And tell us what the number is
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6

    don't use views

    Views in my experience cause more performance problems than they are worth because you are querying a query and running through execution plans that maybe extremely inefficient for what you are trying to accomplish. I would query the tables directly using stored procedures with attention to the execution plan and apply indexes where you are doing table scans on large tables. If none of that works you have serious design issues.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Quote Originally Posted by Joozh
    Hi,

    I have a view which is actually based on a number of other views using joins...

    When I try to return all rows, I am getting a time-out message.
    Please help me if there is a solution to this.

    Many TIA.
    What's the Estimated Excution Plan showing?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    163
    Can you please guide me how to check the Execution plan? Sorry but Ihave never usedthisbefore.

    DO I have to go in Query Analyzer and copy/past the query and then use the Execution plan option or ???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    Quote Originally Posted by Joozh
    Can you please guide me how to check the Execution plan? Sorry but Ihave never usedthisbefore.

    DO I have to go in Query Analyzer and copy/past the query and then use the Execution plan option or ???
    In the QA, go to query and hit show execution plan. Run you query in the QA and examine the plan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    163
    Hi Thrasymachus,

    Thanks for the reply. I have done so and now have the execution plan in front of me.... Now what should I be looking at and how should I proceed. I have different "steps" listed and a cost for each step is listed below. Also when I higlight any "step" I get a "tooltip" what very confusing details... I am surethat I will get there andwill be able to use this but I will REALLY appreciate your help to help me get there and use this functionality...

    Looking forwrd to your help and reply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •