Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9

    Question Unanswered: Help: I can not run DB2 V8.1 on AMD64 under Redhat EL3

    Hi,

    I can not install DB2 V8.1 on AMD64 under Redhat EL3, could anyone give me some instructions? Thanks.

    My configuration is:
    JDK: IBMJava2-SDK-AMD64-1.4.2-0.0.x86_64
    DB2: db2 v8.1
    OS: Redhat EL3 U2
    Box: AMD64

    I am using db2_install to install DB2.

    Then I met below problems:
    1> I can not create tools catalog database.
    2> I can not startup db2cc to configure the database.

    Please help me. Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    From a document published by IBM (sorry I don't have the link):

    Can I use the graphical DB2 installer (db2setup) to install DB2 on RHEL 3?

    Yes, there is a workaround. However it is not officially supported by IBM and is therefore provided for informational purposes only.

    You could use IBMs version of the Java 1.4.1 environment instead of 1.3.1 that is shipped with the DB2 install image. Note that IBM does not support either 1.3.1 or 1.4.1 (SR1) on RHEL 3 yet. To use this unsupported orkaround, you first need to install the IBM version of the Java SDK 1.4.1.
    Depending on which version of the DB2 install image/CD you have, perform the following steps.

    If you have a DB2 UDB V8.1 GA (or level prior to 8.1.4) install image/CD:

    1. Copy its contents to the hard disk (e.g.: cp R /media/cdrom/*<temporary_directory>) where the <temporary_directory> is large enough to hold the install image

    2. Delete the db2/linux/java sub-directory (e.g.: rm fR<temporary_directory>/db2/linux/java)

    3. Create a symbolic link called java to point to the Java 1.4.1 directory (e.g.: ln s /opt/IBMJava2-141 /<temporary_directory>/db2/linux/java)

    4. Ensure the DISPLAY is exported properly and launch the installer. (e.g.: <temporary_directory>/db2setup)

    If you have DB2 install image/CD refreshed at Version 8.1.4 or later:

    1. Set the following environment variables:

    export DB2USELOCALJRE=TRUE
    export JAVA_HOME=<path to 1.4.1 JVM>
    (e.g.: export JAVA_HOME=/opt/IBMJava2-141)

    2. Launch db2setup from the same shell

    [end of IBM document]
    -----------------------------------------------

    After the install, update java path (your path may be different depending on which Java you install):

    db2 update dbm cfg using jdk_path /opt/IBMJava2-142
    db2 update admin cfg using jdk_path /opt/IBMJava2-142

    Do not install the Tools Catalog during the install. It can be installed later.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    Marcus,

    Thank you very much for the comments, but I still have some questions.

    Since I always operate the DB2 remotely through a bad network, I always use the command style installer: db2_install. Now I can finish below steps successfully:

    1> install IBMJDK 1.4.1 64bits for AMD64
    2> use db2_install to install all DB2 rpms.
    3> add necessary users / groups such as db2inst1
    4> create one DB2 instance:
    db2icrt -u db2fenc1 db2inst1
    5> create DB2 administrator server:
    dascrt u dasusr1
    6> validate DB2, such as import the sample DB, do some selects,... all works fine till now.

    Then when I try to create one DB2 Tools Catalog, I found I always fails:
    db2 create tools catalog toolscat create new database toolsdb
    It always report:
    SQL22209N The DB2 Administration Server encountered an unexpected Java error

    I tried your comments about update java path:
    db2 update dbm cfg using jdk_path /opt/IBMJava2-142
    db2 update admin cfg using jdk_path /opt/IBMJava2-142

    And I also tried to export some environments:
    export DB2USELOCALJRE=TRUE
    export JAVA_HOME=/opt/IBMJava2-141
    export LD_ASSUME_KERNEL=2.4.19
    export RPM_FORCE_NPTL=1

    None of above works, I always fails to create the DB2 Tools Catalog on AMD64 with EL3. :-(

    Marcus, you said the Tools Catalog can be installed later, could you please give me some details about this? And do you have any clues about the error I met? Thank you very much!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Trying to install the Tools Catalog as an option during the GUI install usually fails. That is what I meant by installing it later.

    I also have had problems installing the Tools Catalog after the install, but I don't have any solutions. If you have a valid license, I would contact IBM support.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    Marcus,

    Thank you for the reminding! I am using a trial version DB2 V8.1, so it is impossible to contact IBM support. :-(

    OK, then I will try to install DB2 with db2setup, hope this GUI utility can give me some luck.

    Thank you very much, Marcus!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    My experience is that DB2 supplied scripts do not work well with the default Linux bash shell. They are designed to work with the korn shell (default for AIX), but I am not sure if Redhat EL3 has that.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    On EL3, korn shell is installed. But I do not know if it works just like DB2 expects. :-(
    Keep trying.....

    Thank you very much, Marcus!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •