Unanswered: Binary Large Object Fields

I am new to Paradox, having used FoxPro and Access. By setting the properties of a BLOB field in Paradox 11, I can see whether the field is blank or contains a value. How can I find out what the value actually is? There does not appear to be a method of displaying it.

1 Press F9.
    2 Right-click a BLOB field, and click Properties.
    3 In the BLOB options area, enable the Complete display check box.

Binary Large Object Fields

I have tried the F9, Right click on a BLOB field, selecting properties and checking the complete display but all the field shows is:

<Binary value>

I assume this indicates that there is a value held in the field as some of them display wording that indicates the field is empty. I need to see what the actual value is.

Hmm

This is hard since a binary value can actually be anything including an application (*.exe file), Multimedia file or other. From the database, can you tell what types of objects are supposed to be saved in the field such as a graphic or other?

There is a *.MB file which holds the actual datatable which might be helpful to you if you can look at it with a hexadecimal viewer. Could it be that the file application that can open the file does not or exist on the computer from which you are trying to view the database?

The various BLOB formats (graphic, binary, and so-on) really don't say anything about what kind of data can be stored in them. As far as the file-format is concerned, they're all simply "storage space." The preview-area, which is what you see in an ordinary table-view of the field, is really an entirely separate area altogether.