Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    139

    Unanswered: SQL server does not exist or access denied

    I'm using Dreamweaver to connect to an SQL server MSDE sp3 with NT Authenication, everything works perfectly fine when using an asp page with a DSN connection. I installed .NET and created an ASP.NET page and can no longer connect with the following error:

    [DBNETLIB][Connection Open] SQL server does not exist or access denied.

    The connection string is:

    value="Persist Security Info=False;Data Source=[BILLCPU];Initial Catalog=[MASTER_DB];User ID=[];Password=[];"

    There are quite a few posts about this but none have seemed to solve the problem.

    The database is running fine, I have access rights to the database, The SQL client network utility uses TCP/IP and Named Pipes in that order, I have deleted the alias names in the client utility, I tried replacing the server name in Data source with an IP Number and also switched the Data Source [INSTANCENAME]..but still haven't solved it.

    This connection string through DSN connects me immediately:

    ' FileName="Connection_odbc_conn_dsn.htm"
    ' Type="ADO"
    ' DesigntimeType="ADO"
    ' HTTP="false"
    ' Catalog=""
    ' Schema=""
    Dim MM_bill_STRING
    MM_bill_STRING = "dsn=sql_local;"

    Any advice is greatly appreciated...
    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    357

    Thumbs up

    Hi, make sure server name BILLCPU is correct and if it user name and password provide them

    Madhivanan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    In cousin's house
    Posts
    303
    hi
    Install the 2.7 Mdac or latest to your client computer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    139

    sql server does not exist or access denied

    I have the most recent version of MDAC on the client computer. I also am trying to use windows authentication -so I didn't put in a uid or password.
    Thanks,
    Bill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    80
    you want Windows Authentication? So you need to specify

    Integrated Security = SSPI

    in the connection string
    Davide Mauri
    http://www.davidemauri.it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Also, you're missing "Provider=..."
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    In cousin's house
    Posts
    303

    Lightbulb

    hi
    You mean ur using a trusted connection.
    Try to change ur connection string like this
    ConnectionString ="Provider=SqloleDb.1;Address=IPaddress;Trusted_Co nnection=Yes;
    Initial Catalog=DatabaseName"


    My Friend Im looking for a new job. Can u help pls.
    Current work in Toyota Cebu as programmer using VB and CR7 Ms2000
    I want to out here philippines.

    Expected salary $2000 - 5000

    Thanks...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •