Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    22

    Unhappy Unanswered: query criteria pops up on form close!

    I have a frmTimekeeping/fsubTimekeeping (form/subform) setup. On the main form, there is a value list box, the value from which a query uses as one of its criteria. If I open frmTimekeeping, enter a start date, end date, select an employee, click the Query command button (updates the subform), then try to close frmTimekeeping using a command button, a message box comes up asking me for the criteria to put into the qryEmployees. Do I have a lingering process that I am unaware of? If I remove the criteria for the field [status] from qryEmployees the message box does not show up.

    Because I am not sure where the problem lies, I have attached the affected part of my database.

    Thanks in advance for any help,

    Craig
    rockjock
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13
    Hey I checked it out, I am not prompted anywhere when I load or close the form. So either you didnt enclude the problem or there is a problem with the way you have access configured. Not sure if that is any help to you or not

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    22
    The problem does not occur when I simply open the form and then use the command button to close it, this works fine. The problem occurs when I enter information into the controls and then click the query command button, then use the close command button to try closing the form. I have replicated the problem in the database that I uploaded.

    Thanks for your time BTW. :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    13
    I tried again, this time outside of the date range I attempted individual names also. I did not get an error that way. But when I attempted any of the other combo box, I would get an errors stating that something is missing. So that is the best I can help you. I cannot get any other error. Good luck!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by bigfoot0017
    I tried again, this time outside of the date range I attempted individual names also. I did not get an error that way. But when I attempted any of the other combo box, I would get an errors stating that something is missing. So that is the best I can help you. I cannot get any other error. Good luck!
    I knew that the combo boxes (cboProjectID, cboCategoryCode, and cboActivityCode) would produce errors. This is because I only cut a portion of my database to post on this site.

    I get the specific error that I wrote this post about when I do the following:

    Enter 10/16/04 in Start Date
    Enter 10/16/04 in End Date
    Enter Eaton, Craig in Employee Name
    Click the Query command button
    Click the Close command button

    I am using Access 2000. I don't know if this could be a version issue or not.

    Thanks again for taking a peek at my problem.

    Craig
    rockjock
    Last edited by rockjock; 12-06-04 at 19:22. Reason: clarification

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MN US
    Posts
    313
    rockjock,

    Tried your steps exactly, with no errors. (version A2k3)

    -Chris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    22

    Red face

    Thanks for trying Chris. This is getting more frustrating by the minute. It never helps that the problem I am having is not reproducible by anyone else ;-)

    Thanks anyway.

    Craig
    rockjock

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MN US
    Posts
    313
    Yeah, sorry...sounds like a tough one to troubleshoot. It doesn't sound to me like a version problem or a missing reference or anything like that. Sorry couldn't be of more help. Good luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •