Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25

    Unanswered: sqlplus not working... need help.

    I've just installed Oracle10g on RHEL 3 AS. But when i issued sqlplus command, it return a message saying

    -bash: sqlplus: command not found

    Anyway i can resolve this problem.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    I have no idea what RHEL 3 AS means, but - regarding a message you received - I'd say that sqlplus.exe's directory (or sqlplus.com's or whatever executable it is) isn't in your path.

    So (if that's it), modify your path system variable, or go to the that directory (oracle_home\bin, I guess) and try again.

    I hope this helps ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    565
    I've just installed Oracle10g on RHEL 3 AS. But when i issued sqlplus command, it return a message saying

    -bash: sqlplus: command not found
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux? The bash error message was a clue ;-)

    ${ORACLE_HOME}/bin needs to be included in your PATH variable, which you set in your .profile. Also make sure you have ORACLE_SID defined, e.g:

    export ORACLE_SID=mydbname

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25
    Littlefoot... RHEL referring to Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

    I'm not sure whether i have set the path wrongly during the installation. Is there anyway i can double confirm it? This is how my bash_profile look like now:

    unset USERNAME

    export ORACLE_HOME=$ORACLE_BASE/product/10.1.0/db_1
    export ORACLE_SID=orcl

    PATH=$PATH:$ORACLE_HOME/bin
    export PATH

    Anywhere went wrong ?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >export ORACLE_HOME=$ORACLE_BASE/product/10.1.0/db_1
    > Anywhere went wrong ?

    If ORACLE_BASE is not set (correctly), nothing works.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25
    So how do i know whether the ORACLE_BASE is being set correctly or not...

    I am total newbie on this... I don't know whether the path is correct or not..

    Can someone guide a little...

    Btw, what is ORACLE_BASE and ORACLE_HOME means ? where should i point this two to ? Is there anyway i can determine whether the path is correct ?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •