Help (Relational & E-R model)

Hi guys...I'm new here.Nice to meet you all
    So,i've just started a lesson in the university i'm studying which called database systems. I have an exersise to do for relational & e-r model. I need your opinions (cause as i can see it's not something fixed)for some questions.

1)Which is the strongest spots of each model?
    2)Is there any weak spot in each one?If yes, which one (maybe more than one)?
    3)Try to imagine a model which concludes(completely or partly) both models.Does this make sense?If yes,what could it be this super-model?

I would appreciate very much if you could answer me these questions.
    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by MPSP; 12-12-04 at 19:40.

1)Which is the strongest spots of each model?

relational model and e-r model are apples and oranges

the relational model's main strength is that it is based on math

the e-r model's main strength is that it is visual

2)Is there any weak spot in each one?If yes, which one (maybe more than one)?

relational model has no weaknesses -- some people will argue this point, but they are wrong!!!

e-r model's main weakness is that it does not always mean you get a good database out of the design effort

3)Try to imagine a model which concludes(completely or partly) both models.Does this make sense?If yes,what could it be this super-model?

this doesn't make sense
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

First of all thanks for answering.

-Can you please explain what do you mean when you say apples and oranges?
    -Why it doesn't make sense (the super model)?Can you tell me some more things about that?
    -And what do you mean by "out of the design effort"?

Sorry for all these questions but i'm completely new!
    I hope i'll get an answer.

Tnx again.
    Last edited by MPSP; 12-12-04 at 14:52.

Quote Originally Posted by r937
    relational model has no weaknesses -- some people will argue this point, but they are wrong!!!