Unanswered: which version/advantages over sql server?

Hi all

I am a bit of a newbie in the world of ORACLE

I am setting up a site which i would hope will have in the region of 10,000 customers.I am currently working for a company which has 300,000 customers and use SQL server. As I am not familiar with the ORACLE setup I was wondering could anyone tell me what advantages would ORACLE have over SQL server 2000. My pertner in this venture is very ANTI -MS as a result he is pushing ORACLE. However I am the senior developer therefore I will have the final say.

If i decided to go for oravle which version would i go for? What are the costs involved with this? We are on quite a tight budge to speak of at the moment

Any help advice would be very much well received

with MS SQL Server you are bound to MS$$ platforms ...

with Oracle you can go for Linux and the licensing can very much be compared for the RDBMS Server as per user

Reading, UK
    If you are starting out in Oracle go for 10g which is the latest version, preferably enterprise edition (standard is also fine for PROD environments but it lacks certain options which are nice to have rather than essentials).

Advantages over sql server
    1. Concurrency and locking are much better in Oracle. Readers dont block writers, writers dont block readers and writers only block other writers if they want to modify the same row. The number of times I've had to deal with locking deadlocks in the past 8 years with over a hundred plus databases is less than probably 50 occasions. So you dont get escalating locks in Oracle and all the associated problems. Also coding becomes much easier as a result.