Question Unanswered: Oracle update trigger

Hi,

Im trying to do an update trigger over a view of two tables.

My view is very simple, i already did an insert trigger thats working great, but in the case of the update trigger i stumbled with this that kept me scratching my head for a while. (The solution may be very simple but im no oracle expert)

My question is ...
    In the insert trigger i used ":new" as a pseudo record to know which fields had data, in update's case, how can i know the update fields in the where clause ?

I mean ..
    In order to know what clause i must use in the update queries over the view components ...

TIA
    Martin

To be more precise ...

I just wanna know whats after the WHERE ...

Provided Answers: 1
    Are you writing an INSTEAD OF trigger on a view?

If so, your code would be something like:

update table1
    set col1 = :new.col1, col2 = :new.col2, ...
    where keycol = :old.keycol;

perhaps you need to look into Materialized Views with a Refresh on Commit.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

Thanks for the quick replies ...

Quote Originally Posted by andrewst
    Are you writing an INSTEAD OF trigger on a view?

If so, your code would be something like:

update table1
    set col1 = :new.col1, col2 = :new.col2, ...
    where keycol = ld.keycol;
    Yes i am.

I see your point, but how do i know which fields are the keycols ?
    The problem i have is that my table in the view has more or less 280 fields, to be size wise they are distributed in one base table with the key columns and in a "secondary table" some 40 fileds that repeats 6 times in the view with different meanings.

The idea is not making a big 280 fields table and make a fake table with the view and the triggers ...

In this case, i need to know how should filter the tables that are related in a 1:1 basis and my question is ...