Unanswered: Insert huge text file into SQL Server

I am writing a .NET service, and I need to insert files in a SQL DB for temporary storage.

I have never inserted a file into a SQL database before. I am thinking about using the image field type. Has anyone done this before? How did you do it?

No Don't Do it!!

Temporary? Why do it when it's easier to save a link to the location and save the file to a directory.

Just because something can be done does not say it should be!
    Sorry to be terse
    some say it's a curse
    I know it's worse
    I'm just diverse

Well, I'm a consultant and the guy paying my fee wants it like that. Mainly, I imagine, so his DBA's can manage tables instead of managing file directories.

So has anyone done this before?

Then as one consultant to another tell the guy it's not worth the hassle.

However I'll point you to an article it concerns images but gives you the jist of what needs to be done.
    Sorry to be terse
    some say it's a curse
    I know it's worse
    I'm just diverse

Sh*t forgot the link

http://www.sqlteam.com/item.asp?ItemID=986

Sorry about that
    Sorry to be terse
    some say it's a curse
    I know it's worse
    I'm just diverse

Provided Answers: 54
    Unless there is compelling (non-technical) reason to do this, as a consultant you need to convince the client that this is a bad idea. From a technical perspective, it is a disaster in search of a new victim and your client seem to be waving and yelling "pick me, pick me!"

If there is some compelling, non-technical reason to do this, then you can store files as data in MS-SQL, and the IMAGE datatype is the most appropriate way to do it.

-PatP

I appreciate the warnings about this and thanks for the link.

Evanhand -- Remember as a Consultant you have a responsibility to Yourself to not drop your reputation into the shitter, and of course your client.