Thumbs up Unanswered: Need help with tracking equipment use[RESOLVED]

Hey all, I'm pretty new to VB and Access and am trying to figure out what I need to use (control wise) to track equipment usage for each record in an Access file as well as total use.

I first thought that I'd just use a check box next to each type of equipment on my form, but now I can't figure out the coding to sum each type of equipment! Do I need to use some code for this? Ie.

Code:
    Dim hospBed As Integar
    Dim wheChair As Integar
    etc... then add (+1) one each time the check box is enabled per record?!?

Thanks in advance,

G~
    Last edited by geneweaver; 12-25-04 at 02:02.
    The older I get, the more new stuff I tend to forget, the stuff I don't use any more...now that I remember!

Mail Me

if each record can check out a wheelchair and bed, then check boxes work fine to let you know if one is checked out or not. you'll want to have it bound to a field in your table soit will retain the info, of course. to get a total, you make a query to count number of hospital beds and/or wheelchairs.

Thanks for the reply, my only problem with your solution; is that because the checkboxes are boolean data types I only get Yes & No's for my Query Sum. What I need is something (code perhaps) that will convert each records Yes to a 1 or a No to a 0.

Any ideas?

G~
    The older I get, the more new stuff I tend to forget, the stuff I don't use any more...now that I remember!

Mail Me

Quote Originally Posted by geneweaver
    Thanks for the reply, my only problem with your solution; is that because the checkboxes are boolean data types I only get Yes & No's for my Query Sum. What I need is something (code perhaps) that will convert each records Yes to a 1 or a No to a 0.

Any ideas?

G~
    Hi geneweaver,
    Using the CheckBoxes you just Sum the amount like this:

i.e. Field name [Rented] set as a CheckBox.
    In your Report/Form just do this in an Unbound TextBox

=Sum([Rented])