Unanswered: Reporting from a Poorly Structured Database

I'm just a student, but as near as I can tell this database I'm currently working on is pretty far from being properly normalized.

It's a SQL Server and is used with another peice of somewhat commercial software which is also who I'm assuming designed the database. The user talked with the vendor about trying to get slightly more advanced reports.

The gist of what the vendor told the user was that it was not possible. I thought it would be fairly trivial to do in Access until I got a look at the structure.
    Code:
    --------------------
    | dbo_ViewUser     |
    --------------------
    |userNumber(PK)    |
    |userInfoDropDown1 |
    |...               |
    |userInfoDropDown11|
    --------------------

-------------------------
    | dbo_ViewDropDownFields|
    |DropDownID(PK)         |
    |Index_                 |
    |NameIndex              |
    The NameIndex field contains the name of the company that the user might work for. Index_ is a number from 0 to 9 which classifies the different types of companies together, IE delivery, contractor, anything, this also appears to be the only field in all the tables which can be used to relate a user to a company.

For example on the ViewUser table there might be a user who has a userInfoDropDown5 value of 64.

Looking on the ViewDropDown Fields for a dropDownID of 64 we see it has a index_ of 4 (Because the index starts at 0 I guess it's userInfoDropDownN+1)

I just for the life of me don't see how I can relate these two fields, I have some experience with Oracle building fairly complex queries, but that was awhile ago.

I've tried my best to explain the layout but if you're read through all of this and have questions please let me know.

May I suggest that you start looking at the data ... Question: Does the userInfoDropDownXX have Index_ values in it? It may have the DropDownID in it ... You tell us.