Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8

    Unanswered: Changing the host name

    I a new to DB2, currently running window advanced server 2000, with DB2 Universal Enterprise Edition v8.1. My problem is I created a database built some stored procedures then realized that my system name(host) would need to be changed for backup purposes. So I changed it and now when I go to Control Center my old system name still shows up and I cannot access the database that I created or any of the stored procedures? Must I unistall DB2 and reinstall it or is their a way to change the system name? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    You could try updating the host name in the DB2 catalog - looks like it attempts to use the old host name. In the Control Centre right-click on your system, choose "Change" and enter the new host name in the dialog. Repeat these steps for the "Instance" too. See if this works.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    8
    I tried that but get a message that says "The local system object is not allowed to be changed" The local system object is not allowed to be changed.

    Explanation:

    The local system object appears in the tree if this is a server
    installation, and does not appear if this is a client
    installation. You have no direct control over the changing of
    this object because it has special properties that are required
    by the server installation type. "

    The message number is DBA1505

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    33

    Unhappy

    Unfortunately we have tried the same thing. We tried several things and couldn't get it to work again. I suggest un-installing DB2, change the server name, then reinstall DB2, then recatalog the databases. The process of uninstalling doesn't delete the databases on the server. You can recatalog with the command catalog local Drive:database name. I believe that is what we had to do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I guess you can create another "system" entry and catalog local node and its databases again, using the new host name.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Also, try this: right-click on the local node name, select "Setup communications" and change the host name there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    41
    You need to uncatalog & catalog admin node with new hostname to change DB2 nodename on windows for any local databases.

    Here is detail FAQ from IBM developer site.
    ============================================
    Question : How do I rename a server that is running DB2?
    ============================================
    A: To rename a DB2 server:
    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 list admin node directory show detail
    Node Directory.

    Number of entries in the directory = 1

    Node 1 entry:

    Node name = CASPER
    Comment = Local workstation
    Protocol = LOCAL
    Instance name = DB2DAS00
    Remote instance name =
    System = CASPER
    Operating system type = NT

    Write down the details of your local administration node.


    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2admin stop
    SQL4407W The DB2 Administration Server was stopped successfully.
    SQLSTATE=00000


    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 uncatalog node CASPER
    DB20000I The UNCATALOG NODE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.

    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 catalog admin local node CASPER instance DB2DAS00 system BATMAN ostype NT with "New BATMAN"
    DB20000I The CATALOG ADMIN LOCAL NODE command completed successfully.
    DB21056W Directory changes may not be effective until the directory cache is refreshed.

    New BATMAN is just a comment string. Note also that in CLP you may want to replace " with '.

    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 list admin node directory show detail
    Node Directory

    Number of entries in the directory = 1

    Node 1 entry:

    Node name = CASPER
    Comment = New BATMAN
    Protocol = LOCAL
    Instance name = DB2DAS00
    Remote instance name =
    System = BATMAN
    Operating system type = NT

    Here we set the new system name in the registry to match the cataloged local administration node.

    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2 terminate

    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2set -g DB2SYSTEM=BATMAN

    D:\SQLLIB\BIN>db2admin start
    SQL4406W The DB2 Administration Server was started successfully.
    SQLSTATE=00000

    Now you can start the control center and see your new system name.

    Hope this helps.
    Kuckoo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •