Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Unanswered: Helpful insights ...

    Hi all ...

    As usual, I don't ask wimpy little questions ... I'm changing my customer contact interface from that to a "Contact Representing" scheme. Basically what I'm trying to figure out is how (within 1 form) display the contact's info and the company's info and the company contact info such that when moving from 1 company to another the corresponding company contact info appears. And yes, there will be a subform with the company info in it. It's thre trolling thru that subform and displaying the new info that I'm debating (regarding the update/change thereof) ...

    As usual this is with ADO, Access 2000, and a disconnected recordset ...

    Thanks!

    - Mike
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    What's the recordset look like?
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by Teddy
    What's the recordset look like?
    Ted,

    Hmmm ... Let's try the usual ...

    ContactRepresenting
    --------------------
    Customer ID
    Contact ID
    Phone
    Fax
    Cell
    Division
    Location
    EMail
    Notes
    Auto Approved

    Company
    ---------
    Customer ID
    Name
    Address1
    Address2
    City
    State
    Zip/Postal Code

    Contact
    --------
    First name
    MI
    Last name


    The ContactRepresenting table will be the 1 that connects the contact to the company and will be displayed when moving thru the list of represented companies ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    520
    OMG Mike needs help! could be the sign of the apocolypse.
    Then again if I had the answer THAT would be. We are safe for now.
    Darasen

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    146
    Couldn't you accomplish this through the use of a one-to-many relationship between the company and contact tables? I used this concept to create a customer contact tool for my Ad Management system and it works fine.

    tblCompanies
    ------------
    CompanyID (PK)
    CompanyName
    Address
    PhoneNumber
    TypeofServices
    Etc...

    tblContacts
    -----------
    ContactID (PK)
    CompanyID (FK)
    FirstName
    LastName
    PhoneNumber
    Extension
    ContactTitle
    Ext...

    I created a parent form bound to tblCompanies and within it a subform bound to tblContacts. (One-to-Many between tblCompanies:CompanyID and tblContacts:CompanyID) I'm still a novice in terms of Access, but this seems like a rather simple task. Maybe I'm missing something?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by smacdonaldnc
    Couldn't you accomplish this through the use of a one-to-many relationship between the company and contact tables? I used this concept to create a customer contact tool for my Ad Management system and it works fine.

    tblCompanies
    ------------
    CompanyID (PK)
    CompanyName
    Address
    PhoneNumber
    TypeofServices
    Etc...

    tblContacts
    -----------
    ContactID (PK)
    CompanyID (FK)
    FirstName
    LastName
    PhoneNumber
    Extension
    ContactTitle
    Ext...

    I created a parent form bound to tblCompanies and within it a subform bound to tblContacts. (One-to-Many between tblCompanies:CompanyID and tblContacts:CompanyID) I'm still a novice in terms of Access, but this seems like a rather simple task. Maybe I'm missing something?
    As per my posting ... I'm MOVING FROM a customer-contact scheme to a Contact Representing scheme ... So, the contact is now the primary entity within the relationship. Also note that I specifically mentioned disconnected recordsets ... That means, I have a FE and BE that is not linked and that all data has to be loaded into temporary tables.
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Quote Originally Posted by Darasen
    OMG Mike needs help! could be the sign of the apocolypse.
    Then again if I had the answer THAT would be. We are safe for now.
    sic ... Smirk all you want ...
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713
    Ok folks ...

    My uncomfortableness lies in this scheme where imagine a form where it has a subform of companies and the parent displays the contact. When you move from 1 company to another it displays the communication info (phone, fax, cell, email, etc ...) of the contact for that company. Now, here's where it gets kinda hairy, say you want to change something. I know binding that text controls to the underlying table is no problem BUT here's the rub: the communication info is in a separate table to that of the company so, it's the making "seamless" the movement of the companies and the display of the communication info (and the subsequent update/add) ...

    Not so simple eh Darasen?

    - Mike
    Back to Access ... ADO is not the way to go for speed ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •