Normalization dogma?

As a web programmer I have noticed, that the traditional concepts of database normalization, aren't the best solution for a particular problem as most of it is aimed to the conservation of storage space. Today with the cheap storage space, I have noticed that the main problem in web programming is speed (the script-timeout and user patience problem), so I have been forced to introduce some "sins" in my databases in order to speed up reports (yes sure I can always recomend the new ultra fast server to my customer but as my software is designed as the customer uses the hosting of his/her choose...).
    I will like to know if other programmers/analysts have more information or experience with that

T. Fell

my experience is that you run serious risks violating normalization

update anomalies, and the increased processing necessary to avoid them

maintenance issues, and designs that are difficult to change

the list is long

you're right, on the web performance is most important, but denormalization is usually not the answer
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Hi Tomas,

You say,
    traditional concepts of database normalization, aren't the best solution for a particular problem as most of it is aimed to the conservation of storage space.
    That is a serious misunderstanding of the purpose of normalization. Space savings, if it occurs as a result of normalization, is a by-product of normalization and not its main purpose.

As Rudy (r937) alluded to in his reply, normalization provides much, much more than space savings. Some of the benefits are:

1. Data integrity.
    2. One fact in one place.
    3. Ability to modify programs easily.
    If performance for generating reports is a concern, then you should look at other options such as having a separate schema for reports, but based on the normalized transaction database, loaded frequently (once a day, or once a week, etc., depending on your requirements.)