Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294

    Unanswered: 2 Db for 1 listener

    Hello, I have installed 2 databases in my pc, and I only want to have 1 listener (listening them in ports 1521 and 1526) How do I do It??


    Thanks !!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    354
    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = host.domain.com)(PORT = 1521))
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = host.domain.com)(PORT = 1528))
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = orcl.world)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /home/oracle/9.2.0)
    (SID_NAME = orcl)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = another.world)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /home/oracle/9.2.0)
    (SID_NAME = another)
    )
    )
    JoeB
    save disk space, use smaller fonts

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294
    I did wha you said and I get this error:

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.1.0 - Production on Mon Dec 27 17:45:46 2004

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    ERROR:
    ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve service name

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    294
    Well, I attached the listener.ora file, can you check it out ?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    145
    Why would you set up one listener on two ports?

    Setup two listener, one on each port and register database in both listeners.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    Why have two ports or two listeners in either case?
    Having more than one only increases complexity (as demostrated) with no real benefit.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    754
    I agree with anacedent.

    Why not having only one listener on one port, giving access to both instances ? I did that and it works pretty well. Make sure your tnsnames.ora file is correctly configured as well.

    Regards,

    RBARAER

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •