Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    146

    Unanswered: How much RAM do you have in your PC

    a few members of my team are getting new computers and we are not sure if we need to get a gig or ram or just stay with 512.


    we are running:
    XP Pro
    SQL Enterprise / Q.A.
    .NET
    Office 03 Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    28
    Hey, Well, 512 will be more than enough to run your system efficiently, a gig is superb, it may be alot, then agen with a 1000m wrist watch, ur never gonna go that deep, but its good to know that you can drop it in the sink and nothing will happen.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    28
    hope that helps!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    146
    if we are going to have these computers for a few years i dont think it would hurt to have the extra memory....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    new york
    Posts
    28
    yeh of course, you will have the comfort of knowing that as computers advance, yours wont be far behind

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Hardware is dirt cheap save for video cards and specialty controllers now days. I say go for it.

    The lowest I run on any of my machines is 256, my main box runs a gig. I don't have anything "critical" (see: my main gaming/utility box and servers that I bork all the time) running less then 512.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    146
    if we are going to have these computers for a few years i dont think it would hurt to have the extra memory....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Sussex, England
    Posts
    404
    Let's face it you can never have too much memory (or too fast a processor, or too big a hard drive). If you've got the money go for it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cleveland USA
    Posts
    184
    Buy more RAM!!! I currently run Access 97 with 256MB RAM, and it's soooooooooooo slow (a large db, but still...). I'm not sure of the specs, but you're probably running on the low end of what's needed for the software you have.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by LisaChow
    I currently run Access 97
    I'm pretty sure that's you're problem right there.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    austin
    Posts
    146
    I'm doing everthing possible to get away from access to be honest but the extra memory will be good to have.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cleveland USA
    Posts
    184

    Unhappy

    Access 97 is a problem? Ha, I know. There was talk of upgrading office, but the $$$ got in the way. I believe the entire company will be getting new computers and software upgrades (about time!), but it will take about a year cuz we're a big place.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Access in general is a bane to IT as most versions are EXTREMELY resource intensive (particularly 91) and the implementation of SQL is lackluster at best.

    Good reporting tool though.
    Last edited by Teddy; 12-30-04 at 11:39.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    277
    is there anyway to save on resources.... anything else besides, compiling and compact/repair

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •