Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Search Window

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Unanswered: Search Window

    I need to make a homemade Search form for my users....one that they can press a button type in lastname or TM#, FirstName or SSN and BAM!!!!!! theres the results populated on the form. Anyone know of any good sites where I can obtain some info on how to create one of these or something??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    492
    Guess that depends on the language the searchform is to be created in... perhaps http://www.faqts.com/ might get you started but I can't say if it's worth anything...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Adp

    I Used [] in queries and it would ask me for parameters, cant seem to do that with an adp though. Trying to create a search form by using the LIKE parameter in an SQL statement for ADP. Perhaps a Search Field
    Last edited by desireemm; 01-03-05 at 15:26.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I wuld say you should use a stored procedure...BUT..the bigger question is what and where do you have to look this stuff up?

    1 table? many tables? many columns?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Hi Brett

    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Well its for two seperate tables The TERMINATION table and the EmployeeGamingLicense tables both of which have several fields but I only want the users to search by FirstName,Lastname,SSN or TM# and thats about it for now. Heres what one of the forms looks like
    Last edited by desireemm; 04-15-09 at 17:23.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    20,002
    is this Access or SQL Server?

    if it's Access, then it should be moved to the appropriate forum
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Adp

    Access XP is on the Front end but SQL Server 2000 is the Engine

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Rudy....have I been hitting the juice early....

    Did you see the title bar?

    Anyway...I would have a separate form that w ould be a "selection" screen, that I would then open up to this form.

    And I would tone down the labels..keep it simple....

    Use the wizard to build the open form event and then just go in and modify the code and change it to a like with a '*'

    Since you will then have a potential for many rows to be returned, you probably need a pick list screen that list out all the rows....THEN you go to your screen
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Ok Brett

    Thanks will do. But I'm also going to look into what you suggested earlier about the stored procedure.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Alpine Califormia
    Posts
    1,789

    Help Again

    Brett when you say selection screen do you mean like a switchboard like this one??? I created my own homemade version of a switchboard since I used the DTS to transfer the data over to sql. I'll take your advice and fix the labels
    Last edited by desireemm; 04-15-09 at 17:23.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •