Help with schema design for address info

I would like to record the locations of registered members of my site and match them to people with similar interests in nearby locations. I devised the following tables to hold the names of countries, regions and towns and a unique ID for each, along with a table called locations which has a columns country_id, region_id and town_id.

The idea is that this will handle situations where different countries have towns with the same name since the chances they will be in the same region also is very unlikely.

Using ID's for the "relationships" means that if the name of a country is found to be spelled incorrectly, it can be changed without affecting the location table.

I'm new to this sort of database design and would welcome any comments on this design and any pointers to articles on similar designs. I am sure there are probably better ways to do it but I haven't been able to think of any yet.

The SQL for that tables and some INSERT's for data to test them follow:
    CREATE TABLE `countries` (
      `country_id` INT(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
      `country` TEXT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY(`country_id`)
    INSERT INTO `countries` ( `country_id` , `country` ) 
       VALUES ('1', 'United Kingdom'),
                  ('2', 'United States');
    CREATE TABLE `regions` (
      `region_id` INT(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
      `region` TEXT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY(`region_id`)
    INSERT INTO `regions` ( `region_id` , `region` ) 
      VALUES ('1', 'South West'),
                 ('2', 'South Central'),
    	     ('3', 'South East'),
    	      ('4', 'Midlands'),
    	      ('5', 'North West'),
    	      ('6', 'North East');
    CREATE TABLE `towns` (
      `town_id` INT(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
      `town` TEXT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY(`town_id`)
    INSERT INTO `towns` ( `town_id` , `town` ) 
      VALUES ('1', 'Southampton'),
                 ('2', 'Portsmouth'),
                 ('3', 'Winchester'),