Unanswered: Simple Login Issue

I am trying to set up a PHP/MySQL application given to me from a third party. Everything is installed on my server, but when I hit the site with a browser, I get a regular database login error. I'm very new to MySQL administration so this is likely a newbie issue. However, I have a lot of experience administering SQL Server so I'm not completely cluless.

I can reproduce the login error at the command line (actual login is changed for privacy):

Running:
    Code:
    mysql --user=webuser --password=samplepw
    Results in:
    Code:
    ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: 'webuser@localhost' (Using password: YES)
    I do a select * from user and get:

Code:
    +-----------+------------+------------------+
    | Host      | User       | Password         |
    | localhost | root       | XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX |
    | %         | root       |                  |
    | localhost |            |                  |
    | %         |            |                  |
    | localhost | sa         | XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX |
    | %         | webuser    | XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX |
    I've set the password using several variations of the same command:

Code:
    SET PASSWORD FOR 'webuser'@'%' = PASSWORD('samplepw');
    SET PASSWORD FOR 'webuser' = PASSWORD('samplepw');
    SET PASSWORD FOR webuser = PASSWORD('samplepw');
    These all return the suspicious message:

Code:
    Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)
    Why 0 rows affected? That sounds suspicious. However, I can see the encrypted password change in the user table if I try different or blank passwords. Also, if I try an invalid user name, I get an actual error and not the "0 rows affected" message.

None of the above helps and I can still never log in.

The third party that sold us this software specifically designated versions of PHP/MySQL to use instead of the latest.

MySQL version - 3.23.49
    PHP version - 4.3.1
    (I'm using a Windows 2K server box with all the latest patches and IIS)