Question Unanswered: Creating DB schema from a script or stored procedure?

Hi there,

I am a fairly experienced programmer, but new to SQL Server - I understand basic DB theory well enough, but don't have much practical experience with using SQL Server.

I'm working on a project at the moment, where, as part of the spec, users can create 'systems' in the database. For example, in a parts database for a pumping station, there may be 10,000 parts. Rather than have one huge database for, say, 10 pumping stations, we would prefer to have 10 smaller databases, each dedicated to its own system. The schemas would be identical.

I think one approach to this would be have an empty database in SQL server (with the correct tables/schemas/relationships etc) and then copy that within SQL server, with a new name (the system name), probably using a stored procedure.

My question: Is this possible, is there already a stored procedure in SQL Server (2000) to do this, or do I have to write one? Writing a SP to physically create the database from scratch would be a nightmare, I'm hoping there is a simple 'copy_db to new_db' type stored procedure. Maybe there is a program can read a DB and create a script to re-create the DB under a new name?

Any information greatly appreciated.

Mark Wills.
    Mark Wills.

Provided Answers: 1
    In my experience the multi-database approach is never worth the considerable administrative requirements to support it. Unless you anticipate the database size to increase way beyond the ability of a single database server to support it, you should serious rethink your plan and consider adding an additional field or table to your schema to make it scalable.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Provided Answers: 6