Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3

    Unanswered: Install both SQL7 and SQL8 on same server

    Hello all,

    Is there any special procedure to install a SQL7 (plus sp3) and a SQL8 server on a Windows 2000 Server.

    I did succed installing both of them, but all of my applications are behaving strangely ()error msg ect)...So I may supose that there some kind of predefined process to have those kind of installation working properly..?

    Any idea would be welcomed !

    Thanks a lot in advance,

    Regards,

    Benj.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    how did you do it? there should'nt be any problems if you used named instances. If however you did'nt used named instances and you installed SQL 2K on top of SQL7, yes you can have a number of problems. off the top of my head I think there is an issue with programmers that used qoutes in their stored procedures.
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    Just two standard installs...nothing really complex.

    Yes, I did use instances for SQL8:

    MYSERVER => for accessing SQL7 DB

    MYSERVER\APLTEST => for accessing SQL8 DB

    But year I tried to trace from both side (profiler and ODBC trace log), and did find some weird error messages:

    DIAG [S0002] [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Invalid object name 'ScalaDBProperties'. (208)...

    And basically my application crashes after trying to do this command (checking if the table exists):

    SELECT NULL FROM SY050000 WHERE 1 = 2

    Here it dies...

    Ghost


    But what's the best is that this table exist, I can querry it without any issue.. Also tried to do a connection from another server with MS Access..just in case...It also worked fine..

    Also last point I tried to recreate a user for this DB by deleting the main software user called Scala and recreating it.. Nothing worked..

    I'm really lost here, so if anyone would have a hint..I would be very happy !

    Thanks again,

    Benj.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    on the wrong server
    Posts
    8,835
    Provided Answers: 6
    Am I missing something here? Your query does not seem to make any sense.

    It seems you are returning the value null when the number 1 = number 2 which is a mathmatical impossibility.

    1 is not a column name. I seem to remember that column names can not start with numbers.

    Am I wrong?
    “If one brings so much courage to this world the world has to kill them or break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.” Earnest Hemingway, A Farewell To Arms.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Erf... that's the SQL statement the program we have issue.

    From what I was thinking, the program is just trying to check if the table SY050000 exists but I'm not certain of it and since my knowledge of SQL is pretty limited (just trying to debug the thingy) I cannot assure you that this command syntax is actually right..

    But I tried from a querry analyzer and it doesn't give me any error and it returns me :

    (No column Name)

    If I try the same command on a table that doesn't exists I have this erro message:

    Server: Msg 208, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
    Invalid object name 'SY05000'.


    Would there be any tests to do from a SQL point of view, on the SY050000 table to check if everything is alright ? Is there anything else I could try to test my SQL install or my ODBC connection please ?

    In any case thanks for trying to help that's much apreciated
    Last edited by codemco; 01-10-05 at 04:54.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •