Unanswered: Changing horses in midstream...

This is NOT my choice, but I am being forced to plan for migrating my 2 SQL database clusters (SQL 2000 SP3 running on Windows 2000 Advanced Server SP4) from their current SAN environment to a new SAN environment (from EMC Clariion to IBM DS4300).

The SAN hosts a quorum disk, a data disk and a log disk for both clusters. Each cluster is a 2-node Active/Passive cluster.

I have never done anything like this before and neither has the 3rd party contract service provider charged with making it happen. They did prepare a 56-step plan for the migration (plus 14 steps for backing out), but I wondered if anyone here had any experience in this realm.

We have a 4-hour window to complete the migration; realistically that is not enough time to perform a bare-metal install (which I would almost prefer to do). Your thoughts and comments are welcome (prayers are welcome, too).

Regards,

hmscott
    Have you hugged your backup today?

Provided Answers: 54
    Assuming that you have two complete sets of hardware (SAN, server, infratructure), this is relatively easy. Run both systems in parallel, loading the new system from a dump of the existing one. At a point in time near cutover, do a full dump/restore. Once you reach user downtime, do a differential backup and restore it to the new box. Change the cluster ip address of the new cluster to that of the existing cluster, and you ought to be "up and running" with little fuss, muss, or bother.

It helped that we did this three times for QA before we had to do it in production. The confidence and having the bugs worked out helped a lot.

-PatP

Nope, I do not have 2 complete sets of hardware. I have 2 clusters currently running in production (each with 2 nodes). I do not have any additional server hardware to allocate.

I do (or will) have two complete SANs (an existing EMC Clariion CX500 and a proposed IBM DS4300).