Question Unanswered: Complex situation ODBC question -- long, sorry!

I'll try not to be too long-winded, but there's a fair bit to say in order to be clear about the situation. Apologies in advance.

I do Student Records for Degree Programmes in a small theological college. I cut my database teeth on dBase III and III+, and I've been using Paradox for 15 years, through various versions, now running Paradox 10. Virtually everything I have learned has been on the fly, reading manuals, etc. and at this time, I'm really the only person left here who knows anything about Paradox in particular and the innards of a database in general -- which may not be saying much, but there it is.

There are two other programme units in the school, each with their own database sytem or lack thereof -- not Paradox.

Our Development Office, which is responsible for things like donor and alumni relations has found and embraced software that serves their database needs admirably: Blackbaud's Raiser's Edge.