Question Unanswered: Help on temporary tables, rowcount and exec equivalent from SQL to Oracle

Hi Oracle gurus,

I am a newbie in Oracle, I have worked previously with SQL Server 2000. I have some queries on how to do specific tasks in Oracle.

1. Is there an equivalent for "INSERT * INTO #tmpEmployee FROM Employee" in Oracle? If none, how can I create a temporary table and can I create it inside a stored procedure?

2. How can I set the rows to be retrieved? In SQL, I use SET rowcount [n]

3. What's the equivalent for Exec(string) in Oracle?

You see, I am actually trying to create a stored procedure that will concatenate a string based on the parameters passed and then execute it in the end.

Thanks very much for your help.

Regards,

Joey Gutierrez
    Last edited by jpgutierrez18; 01-12-05 at 03:54. Reason: Changed title

Hello jpgutierrez18,

I haven't used SQL Server a lot, but I think I can help you a little...

1. If you want to populate #tmpEmployee with data from the employee table, then it is :
    Code:
    INSERT INTO #tmpEmployee SELECT * FROM Employee;
    2. You want to return only the first n rows retrieved, right ? Then :
    Code:
    select * from Employee
    where rownum <= n;
    3. Here, a little advice. You should NEVER concatenate a string and execute it (you risk SQL Injection). USE BIND VARIABLES. Have a look here , and BTW I highly recommend you read several articles on AskTom, EXCELLENT site.

If you have any other question, don't hesitate.

Regards,

RBARAER

Although it is possible to create tables within a procedure using dynamic SQL, it is almost never a good idea.

If you need temp table logic in Oracle, you can create a Global Temporary Table (GTT) - see under CREATE TABLE in the SQL reference. This is a table you create ONCE (the definition is permanent) but the data you place in it is temporary and private to your session.

Thanks for the responses guys

@RBARAER - I'm sorry but this doesn't work in Oracle, I'm using 9i