Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation Unanswered: why do i get an error??

    i have installed oracle 9i standard version in my windows xp professional operating system but iam unable to connect it after entering the username and password as scott and tiger .i get errors as ora-12560 :TNSprotocal edapter error. what to do????
    Last edited by ushareddy; 01-12-05 at 10:48.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    186
    you probably havn't put an entry in your tns names file
    <oracle home>\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora

    add in the following, replacing <your databse sid> with your databases sid

    <your databse sid> =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521))
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = <your databse sid>))
    )
    There are 10 types of people in the world, those that know Binary and those that don't.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by robert xr4x4
    you probably havn't put an entry in your tns names file
    <oracle home>\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora

    add in the following, replacing <your databse sid> with your databases sid

    <your databse sid> =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521))
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = <your databse sid>))
    )

    may i plzz know what this tns names file is and how do i replace this ?
    should i make the changes in the oracle intype file assistant?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    186
    it's just a text file so you just edit the file in notepad
    There are 10 types of people in the world, those that know Binary and those that don't.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation

    should this be done in the sql plus configuration settings notepad which contains as below

    #Sql*Plus user initialzation file. DO NOT MODIFY
    [WindowSize: L T R B] 0016 0016 0600 0450
    [ScreenBuffer: W L] 0100 1000


    this sqlplus configuration settings is present in ora92/sql plus /admin folder in my system.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    186
    but the file you need to modify is c:\ora92\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora using windows notepad.exe
    There are 10 types of people in the world, those that know Binary and those that don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by robert xr4x4
    but the file you need to modify is c:\ora92\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora using windows notepad.exe

    i couldnt find any tnsnames.ora file in ADMIN folder . should i save the content given by u in this folder with a file name tnsnames.ora??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    down on the cube farm, left then right then another left
    Posts
    467
    Fire up "Net Configuration Assistant". Given you experience level this is your best chance to get a workable tnsnames file.
    NOTE: Please disregard the label "Senior Member".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    186
    do a search for tnsnames.ora as you must have one somewhere, I'm surprised it's not in that location
    There are 10 types of people in the world, those that know Binary and those that don't.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    which configuration should be chosen after i get through net configuration assistant ?is it the listener /naming methods/local net service name/directory usage??and how to proceed further?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Todd Barkus
    Fire up "Net Configuration Assistant". Given you experience level this is your best chance to get a workable tnsnames file.

    which configuration should be chosen after i get through net configuration assistant ?is it the listener /naming methods/local net service name/directory usage??and how to proceed further?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by robert xr4x4
    do a search for tnsnames.ora as you must have one somewhere, I'm surprised it's not in that location

    well i have found tnsnames.ora file in network\admin\samples.now how to proceed further ?how to make the changes???what all should i edit?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by robert xr4x4
    do a search for tnsnames.ora as you must have one somewhere, I'm surprised it's not in that location
    i have found the tns names file and it contains the below content .can suggest upon where should be the changes made??the file contains............


    <alias>= [ (DESCRIPTION_LIST = # Optional depending on whether u have
    # one or more descriptions
    # If there is just one description, unnecessary ]
    (DESCRIPTION=
    [ (SDU=2048) ] # Optional, defaults to 2048
    # Can take values between 512 and 32K
    [ (ADDRESS_LIST= # Optional depending on whether u have
    # one or more addresses
    # If there is just one address, unnecessary ]
    (ADDRESS=
    [ (COMMUNITY=<community_name>) ]
    (PROTOCOL=tcp)
    (HOST=<hostname>)
    (PORT=<portnumber (1521 is a standard port used)>)
    )
    [ (ADDRESS=
    (PROTOCOL=ipc)
    (KEY=<ipckey (PNPKEY is a standard key used)>)
    )
    ]
    [ (ADDRESS=
    [ (COMMUNITY=<community_name>) ]
    (PROTOCOL=decnet)
    (NODE=<nodename>)
    (OBJECT=<objectname>)
    )
    ]
    ... # More addresses
    [ ) ] # Optional depending on whether ADDRESS_LIST is used or not
    [ (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SID=<oracle_sid>)
    [ (GLOBAL_NAME=<global_database_name>) ]
    )
    ]
    [ (SOURCE_ROUTE=yes) ]
    )
    (DESCRIPTION=
    [ (SDU=2048) ] # Optional, defaults to 2048
    # Can take values between 512 and 32K
    [ (ADDRESS_LIST= ] # Optional depending on whether u have more
    # than one address or not
    # If there is just one address, unnecessary
    (ADDRESS
    [ (COMMUNITY=<community_name>) ]
    (PROTOCOL=tcp)
    (HOST=<hostname>)
    (PORT=<portnumber (1521 is a standard port used)>)
    )
    [ (ADDRESS=
    (PROTOCOL=ipc)
    (KEY=<ipckey (PNPKEY is a standard key used)>)
    )
    ]
    ... # More addresses
    [ ) ] # Optional depending on whether ADDRESS_LIST
    # is being used
    [ (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SID=<oracle_sid>)
    [ (GLOBAL_NAME=<global_database_name>) ]
    )
    ]
    [ (SOURCE_ROUTE=yes) ]
    )
    [ (CONNECT_DATA=
    (SID=<oracle_sid>)
    [ (GLOBAL_NAME=<global_database_name>) ]
    )
    ]
    ... # More descriptions
    [ ) ] # Optional depending on whether DESCRIPTION_LIST is used or not

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    186
    that is a sample file, hence why it is in the sample directory.

    use the net config tool as suggested above and choose "local net service name"
    There are 10 types of people in the world, those that know Binary and those that don't.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by robert xr4x4
    that is a sample file, hence why it is in the sample directory.

    use the net config tool as suggested above and choose "local net service name"
    what should be done after choosing local net service name configuration?quite irritating but hope u can help me get through this

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •